Tag Archives: library

Book Review- Invisibility

invisibility

When I saw this book on the shelf at my library, I recognized it (as people deeply involved in book culture are wont to do). I met David Levithan at YALLFest last year, and he was super nice and down to earth. At that time, I hadn’t read any of his books and was only purchasing one of them (Every Day- one of my favorites of all time). I had a feeling that anything written by him would be amazing, but this book only lived up to and exceeded that expectation!

Stephen has been invisible for practically his whole life — because of a curse his grandfather, a powerful cursecaster, bestowed on Stephen’s mother before Stephen was born. So when Elizabeth moves to Stephen’s NYC apartment building from Minnesota, no one is more surprised than he is that she can see him. A budding romance ensues, and when Stephen confides in Elizabeth about his predicament, the two of them decide to dive headfirst into the secret world of cursecasters and spellseekers to figure out a way to break the curse. But things don’t go as planned, especially when Stephen’s grandfather arrives in town, taking his anger out on everyone he sees. In the end, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how big of a sacrifice they’re willing to make for Stephen to become visible — because the answer could mean the difference between life and death. At least for Elizabeth.

I love this book so much!! When you read a lot of books, you come to expect a lot, especially from a book about something as seemingly simple as invisibility. But the farther into the book you read, the more you discover that there is an entire world hidden behind the seeming simplicity of invisibility, and Elizabeth holds the key. I finished this book in mere hours, because once I started, it was impossible to walk away. The writing was beautiful and haunting, but readable, and I thought Levithan’s writing was extraordinarily empathetic with an invisible boy. It’s hard to understand what I mean without reading it- how can someone know what it feels like to never have been seen?- but he pulls it off.

The magical world behind Stephen’s invisibility curse is complex and thought provoking. The curse, itself, is also so. Many people wish to be invisible, it is widely regarded as something cool, you only have to look at Harry Potter to see what people idolize. Power, invisibility, and eternal life. But this gives a whole new spin on the idea of not being seen- for someone like Stephen who has been invisible since birth, it is not a blessing. The whole issue was delicately handled, and I like that.

The romance was slow and sweet, but passionate, and the ending was heartbreaking. I think it was actually the best part, even though it was sad in a certain way. I highly, highly recommend this book for most anyone, especially for fans of David Levithan or Andrea Cremer (his co-author), YA fans, or those who like a healthy dose of magical realism. (and really, who doesn’t?)

Have a great day, everyone!

Olivia

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary, Fiction, Magical Realism

Library Awesomeness Haul- No. 3

Ohhh yeah that’s right! I’m back for the 3rd time with a boatload of books that I’m tickled to share with everyone! This might just be my favorite batch yet!

I hate this cover compared to the others! But I am so excited to read this book! And see the movie afterwards of course 🙂 But it has that OMG- Olivia- this- book- was- made- for- you vibe to it! Reading this one first! Although, I’ll have to put it on hold tomorrow when Insurgent arrives on my Kindle!! (EEEEKKK!)

Also similar to The Princess Bride, and a quick glance through this had me hooked! I loved Neil Gaiman’s ‘The Graveyard Book’ but haven’t read anything else by him.

The sequel to Wither. Maybe she can sell me on this one, it seems like it improves from book to book. (now I’m wondering what the title of the 3rd one will be… can’t think of anything that ends in -er…)

Got this one on a whim. Maybe it will be good! But all of the highly- anticipated others come first! 🙂

I got the first 5 chapters of this for free on my Kindle, and I am HOOKED! I am so glad I have it now, I’ll be rushing to finish the others just to get to this. And have you ever SEEN a cooler cover?!

Yes, I know, another retelling. Of the 12 Dancing Princesses no less. What can I say, though? And I also think this one has a beautiful cover. It is a healthy size, but I’m not intimidated.

Anyone else find it hilarious that her last name is PROSE?! Oh, I crack myself up.

 

Well, there you have it! Possibly the greatest selection of library books OF ALL TIME. Or not. But I’ll love them anyway!

Talk to you guys more later! As you can probably tell, there will be maaannnyy reviews coming up! I’ll try to get one of Insurgent up ASAP!

Read until your eyes hurt! Then read more…

Olivia

 

8 Comments

Filed under Classic, Fiction, Modern Fiction, Nonfiction, Romance

Library Awesomeness- Haul

Can you even call books you got from the library a “haul”? I’m not sure, but I’ll do it anyway. 😀 Yesterday I ordered some books that I wanted to my local library, and picked them up a few hours ago. Man, there is nothing like a brand new, shiny book. But it makes me sad that I can’t keep these forever! Maybe I’m irrational. That or I like books. 🙂

Anyway, I got 6 books today. That might seem like a lot, especially considering the fact that I am already in the middle of a book. I don’t care.

Goodreads’ Description- “Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows? Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.”

One Day was inadvertently recommended to me by Chew Your Lipstick in her day 4 of the 30 day book challenge (a book that makes you cry). I say inadvertently because I don’t know her personally, I just read her post and knew I wanted to read this book. I also saw it at a local used bookstore, so I know if I love it I can buy it for cheap.  I am almost always interested in books that have movies of them, so I’d be excited to see the movie after I read this.

This is similar to Phillipa Gregory’s other books in that she is writing again about the kings and queens of old England. This one in particular is about Queen Elizabeth, and her rise to power. I am interested in this one even more after reading The Other Queen-  because it makes Elizabeth seem like a nasty person. Her point of view will be refreshing.

Those of you who have read my last few posts know I have wanted to read this book for a long time. I have already read a sample of it on my Kindle and fallen in love, so this is most likely the one I will read first.

The Princess of the Midnight Ball is a new version of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. If you haven’t read this, it is about a handsome man who has to rescue 12 princesses from a curse- every night they must enter an underground kingdom and dance the night away.  I really enjoyed the original version as a little girl, and I look forward to reading this version. This was recommended to me by Cara, and it seems like we have similar tastes! I can’t wait! 🙂 Thanks, Cara!

This is another one of those werewolf series’. Unfortunately, I am a sucker for those. 🙂 These seem to be better than the other stereotypical sagas though. I think maybe because so many people dislike Twilight, they give all other romantic fantasy werewolf/vampire type books a bad rap. Yes, I realize these are meant for preteens, but after reading a chapter or two in target, I was hooked.

OK, so if you have read any of these books, comment and tell me what you think! I will hopefully review all of these once I am finished! Also, I LOVE recommendations, and as you can tell, most of the time I read what you recommend! So please tell me what you would suggest!

Spread the love, my fellow bookworms!!

Olivia

15 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance