Tag Archives: David Levithan

Book Review- Invisibility

invisibility

When I saw this book on the shelf at my library, I recognized it (as people deeply involved in book culture are wont to do). I met David Levithan at YALLFest last year, and he was super nice and down to earth. At that time, I hadn’t read any of his books and was only purchasing one of them (Every Day- one of my favorites of all time). I had a feeling that anything written by him would be amazing, but this book only lived up to and exceeded that expectation!

Stephen has been invisible for practically his whole life — because of a curse his grandfather, a powerful cursecaster, bestowed on Stephen’s mother before Stephen was born. So when Elizabeth moves to Stephen’s NYC apartment building from Minnesota, no one is more surprised than he is that she can see him. A budding romance ensues, and when Stephen confides in Elizabeth about his predicament, the two of them decide to dive headfirst into the secret world of cursecasters and spellseekers to figure out a way to break the curse. But things don’t go as planned, especially when Stephen’s grandfather arrives in town, taking his anger out on everyone he sees. In the end, Elizabeth and Stephen must decide how big of a sacrifice they’re willing to make for Stephen to become visible — because the answer could mean the difference between life and death. At least for Elizabeth.

I love this book so much!! When you read a lot of books, you come to expect a lot, especially from a book about something as seemingly simple as invisibility. But the farther into the book you read, the more you discover that there is an entire world hidden behind the seeming simplicity of invisibility, and Elizabeth holds the key. I finished this book in mere hours, because once I started, it was impossible to walk away. The writing was beautiful and haunting, but readable, and I thought Levithan’s writing was extraordinarily empathetic with an invisible boy. It’s hard to understand what I mean without reading it- how can someone know what it feels like to never have been seen?- but he pulls it off.

The magical world behind Stephen’s invisibility curse is complex and thought provoking. The curse, itself, is also so. Many people wish to be invisible, it is widely regarded as something cool, you only have to look at Harry Potter to see what people idolize. Power, invisibility, and eternal life. But this gives a whole new spin on the idea of not being seen- for someone like Stephen who has been invisible since birth, it is not a blessing. The whole issue was delicately handled, and I like that.

The romance was slow and sweet, but passionate, and the ending was heartbreaking. I think it was actually the best part, even though it was sad in a certain way. I highly, highly recommend this book for most anyone, especially for fans of David Levithan or Andrea Cremer (his co-author), YA fans, or those who like a healthy dose of magical realism. (and really, who doesn’t?)

Have a great day, everyone!

Olivia

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary, Fiction, Magical Realism

YALLFest Recap!

YALLFest haiku. (with pictures)

YALLFest was so amazing

full of books, pie, and

even extreme fangirling.

*bows* I know, I know. Beautiful. Here are some pictures I took of authors and cool stuff on the trip! (not of general Charleston, though, that’s a seperate post. I took way too many pictures to include them all at once.)

The picture is pretty blurry on this one, but you get the idea! (P.S.- Blue Bicycle Books, that bookshop, is really cool. I want one in NC!)

I was one of the first ones to meet Holly Black! She was really sweet and her energy was contagious. I haven’t started White Cat yet, but I’m excited to!

This is a really blurry picture of Stephanie Perkins! I was a bit sad after that, because even though I had been in line for quite some time, the YALLFest people were worried she wouldn’t have time for everyone, so they set up a little assembly line as seen above. Stephanie didn’t have time for personalization by the time I got to her, but that’s alright. I’m hoping to go to one of her signings in Asheville next year, and I’ll get it personalized there. 🙂

 

David Levithan! He was super nice, and in my book (a copy of Every Day) he wrote “To Olivia, Live Every Day in Wonder” and then signed his name. I understand he signed the same thing for a lot of people, but it is still really awesome. (BTW, I read Every Day on the way back, and holy shizballs was it amazing! The best book I’ve read in a really, really long time. Review soon!)

Diana Peterfreund! (For Darkness Shows the Stars. Review here.)

Gayle Forman! (If I Stay series. Still have to read this one.)

Really blurry, but Kami Garcia (left) and Margaret Stohl (right) (Beautiful Creatures series, also have to read this one)

Wendy Maas. (Every Soul a Star, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life, A Mango-Shaped Space, and others) The only one of those three I haven’t read is Every Soul a Star. I actually got to talk to her, which was nice! I told her that I wrote a paper on synesthesia last year, and that I thought A Mango-Shaped Space did a beautiful job with synesthesia. She was insanely nice!

My mom took this picture of me while we were waiting in the line for David Levithan. I look mostly just tired, but behind that teeny smile I’m fangirling like crazy.

And one last thing….

THE PIE. Oh, the pie. It was so delicious.

Have a great day, y’all! 😉 I’ll have a post of general Charleston trip up for you tomorrow or maybe Tuesday. I would say Monday, but I have a bajillion things on the agenda for then, so I’ll probably just schedule a post. I’m hoping to get back to my usual post schedule, at least once or twice a week, but we’ll see!

Olivia

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized