Category Archives: Fantasy

Giveaway!

Hi there, guys! I hope you’re having a lovely and safe Labor Day.

I’ve been sitting on a couple of ARC’s for a few weeks now. Some of them just aren’t my style, and some of them I disliked reading. But that doesn’t mean YOU won’t! 🙂 This is my first ever giveaway, and I’m super excited to share them with you!

So, here’s how it works. Anyone can enter. Authors, bloggers, readers, Tweet people, writers, teenagers, librarians, neighbors, it doesn’t matter! This giveaway is to thank you, my readers. Does that mean you have to be a follower to win? Nope!

I would love for you to review it, but it’s absolutely not necessary that you do. I’m also quite alright if you don’t enjoy the book. I hope you do, of course!

You’ll also notice that I’m *not* using Rafflecopter, for several reasons:

A) these aren’t really huge, majorly epic releases like Origin, What’s Left of Me, etc. I feel these books aren’t important enough for that. It really won’t bother me if you don’t want to enter!

B) Whenever I enter a giveaway on someone’s blog, there is almost always an option to follow their blog, like their Facebook page, whatever. It doesn’t bother me if other people do this, but I’m not involving myself. I love my followers, I really do. That’s because I know them. They’re active on my blog, they talk to me. They’re my friends! I don’t want to gain 100 followers from a giveaway if they won’t actually read my blog. I don’t want 100 FB likes if they aren’t real. If y’all want to follow my blog, or like my Facebook page, or tweet about this, that’d be lovely. But everyone gets equal entries here. I’m not holding this giveaway to gain more followers.

Now, all you have to do is comment below! Tell me something about yourself (it doesn’t have to be anything special, I don’t really care if you tell me you love chocolate cake) and I’ll enter you to win! Just be sure to give me your email address so I can contact you if you win. If you’re uncomfortable with that, just give me your Twitter handle. And if that doesn’t work either… well, let me know. We’ll work something out.

I have three books up for grabs. There will be one winner, and that winner will be able to choose which book they want. If I get a bajillion entries or something (which I’m not expecting), I’ll choose two winners through Random.org.

The first book is Confessions of A Murder Suspect by James Patterson. The title says it all. It’s set to be released at the end of September.

The second is The Secret Keeper by Sandra Byrd. It’s a historical romance. It’s an ARC but this one was released in June.

The last is The Darkening Dream by Andy Gavin. This one isn’t an ARC, but it’s signed. I won it in a giveaway a few weeks ago, and it just doesn’t appear to be my style. It’s a science fictiony-paranormal-ish thing that I can’t quite describe. Also comes with a fancy schamncy pants Darkening Dream bookmark.

Quite a large variety, I think!

Other rules, hmm. If you’re under 18, you have to have your parent’s permission. And you have to be alright with giving me your mailing address. (which will obviously be kept private) The winner will be chosen through Random.org, and this giveaway ends THIS Friday (9/7/12) at midnight EST. I’ll ship the book to you as soon as I possibly can. Also, I hate that I have to say this, but if you’re a spammer or creep, etc., I reserve the right to delete your comment/entry. Please don’t enter more than once with different accounts. I can tell, believe me.

And now that all the serious is done, go for it, folks!

Much love,

Olivia

**EDIT: Oops! Forgot to say that this is US only! Sorry, y’all!**

20 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

Full Book Review- Bitterblue

The last post you got in your inbox (if you’re a subscriber) was a mess-up. Sometimes I mean to press the ‘save draft’ button and hit the ‘Publish’ button instead. So this is the real Bitterblue review. The entire one. 🙂

So, I finished Bitterblue a few days ago, but I’ve held off reviewing it until now for two reasons. One, I’m not sure how hard my new classes will be right off the bat. And two, this book was so AMAZING that I felt I needed to take a break in order for my review to be coherent. 🙂

It’s no secret that I am a HUGE fan of the Graceling series. Normally I don’t go for YA Fantasy, but gosh I just LOVE this series. Of course I wanted to pick up the third installment in the series as soon as it came out. But I don’t have a job or an endless supply of money to buy books with. Most of the time, I don’t buy books. It’s not that I don’t want to support authors (I really, really do!), it’s just that my budget is SO small, I usually only buy my VERY favorite books. That way I don’t waste precious book money.
Anyway, after that lengthy explanation, my point is, I would have bought this right off the bat, but I couldn’t afford it. So I got on the library waiting list instead, and recieved it last week.

I thought Bitterblue was the perfect end to a truly great series. Before I read this, I had a bit of a hard time relating to Po and Katsa from Graceling, but after seeing them 10 years later, I love them. And I’m even more in love with Po than I was before! Each one of Kirsten Cashore’s others in the series was amazing and beautiful and deep, but this one really tied up loose ends that I didn’t really realize were there. Not major ones, but like ‘I wonder if Katsa and Po will still be together after 10 years?’. That kind of thing. That doesn’t mean Bitterblue doesn’t have a good plotline as a standalone, but you really need to read it after you read Graceling and Fire. (in order- read Graceling, then Fire, then Bitterblue)

It’s hard for me to review a book that is reliant on you having read the other books without giving spoilers, so I’ll say this: Kirsten Cashore’s Graceling series is my favorite series ever. I never expected to love them as much as I did! Her books are an example of everything I’m looking for in a story, and I couldn’t be more pleased. Bitterblue is a fantastic end to a truly memorable set of books that I look forward to passing on to my children. If you haven’t read these, you must. For fans of Graceling and Fire, Bitterblue is an absolutely necessary read that will charm you as much, if not more, as the others.

Hope y’all enjoyed this review! I’m hoping to keep my regular pace up with reviewing as I start school tomorrow. I usually review more during the school year, but it takes me a few weeks to get in the groove and I’ve got some really tough stuff this year.

🙂 Olivia

P.S. this is a *super* tentative announcement that I *might* be going to YALLFest in November. Maybe. Possibly. Hopefully. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance