YALLFest Recap!

YALLFest haiku. (with pictures)

YALLFest was so amazing

full of books, pie, and

even extreme fangirling.

*bows* I know, I know. Beautiful. Here are some pictures I took of authors and cool stuff on the trip! (not of general Charleston, though, that’s a seperate post. I took way too many pictures to include them all at once.)

The picture is pretty blurry on this one, but you get the idea! (P.S.- Blue Bicycle Books, that bookshop, is really cool. I want one in NC!)

I was one of the first ones to meet Holly Black! She was really sweet and her energy was contagious. I haven’t started White Cat yet, but I’m excited to!

This is a really blurry picture of Stephanie Perkins! I was a bit sad after that, because even though I had been in line for quite some time, the YALLFest people were worried she wouldn’t have time for everyone, so they set up a little assembly line as seen above. Stephanie didn’t have time for personalization by the time I got to her, but that’s alright. I’m hoping to go to one of her signings in Asheville next year, and I’ll get it personalized there. 🙂

 

David Levithan! He was super nice, and in my book (a copy of Every Day) he wrote “To Olivia, Live Every Day in Wonder” and then signed his name. I understand he signed the same thing for a lot of people, but it is still really awesome. (BTW, I read Every Day on the way back, and holy shizballs was it amazing! The best book I’ve read in a really, really long time. Review soon!)

Diana Peterfreund! (For Darkness Shows the Stars. Review here.)

Gayle Forman! (If I Stay series. Still have to read this one.)

Really blurry, but Kami Garcia (left) and Margaret Stohl (right) (Beautiful Creatures series, also have to read this one)

Wendy Maas. (Every Soul a Star, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life, A Mango-Shaped Space, and others) The only one of those three I haven’t read is Every Soul a Star. I actually got to talk to her, which was nice! I told her that I wrote a paper on synesthesia last year, and that I thought A Mango-Shaped Space did a beautiful job with synesthesia. She was insanely nice!

My mom took this picture of me while we were waiting in the line for David Levithan. I look mostly just tired, but behind that teeny smile I’m fangirling like crazy.

And one last thing….

THE PIE. Oh, the pie. It was so delicious.

Have a great day, y’all! 😉 I’ll have a post of general Charleston trip up for you tomorrow or maybe Tuesday. I would say Monday, but I have a bajillion things on the agenda for then, so I’ll probably just schedule a post. I’m hoping to get back to my usual post schedule, at least once or twice a week, but we’ll see!

Olivia

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “YALLFest Recap!

  1. You’ve heard me say this a million times over email but I’ll say it again anyways. So jealous that you met so many awesome-sauce authors!

Leave a Reply

