Book Review- Anna and the French Kiss

Dear Stephanie Perkins,

Thank you, thank you, for giving the world a book that has charmed girls of all ages, including me. I will read it hundreds of times, I can already tell. I love it. You are amazing. *hugs*

 

I don’t even know where to start, really. I was glued to this book after reading just a paragraph. I read it between taking notes for the entire school day, between studying, under the table at dinner… you get my point. I literally couldn’t put it down. The plot is amazing and so realistic! Not to mention hilarious. This book took me away from everything I didn’t want to think about and wrapped me in a story spun of gold, of France, and of true love.

The writing is gorgeous, and totally captured my heart. I’m sort of convinced that Anna is an actual person. (and Etienne too, but if he IS real I’m taking the next plane to HIM, thankyouverymuch) Part of the reason I love her so much is that Anna is my twin. My book twin. We have the exact same shyish-funnyish-smartish-sarcastic-slightly-neurotic-definitely-OCD personality. It’s quite creepy, really. Nah, just kidding. It’s amazing.

Etienne, as I said above, is totally drool worthy. I can’t even… it’s hard to describe. I would call him perfect, because like Anna, he’s not. That’s why I love him! He’s just so broken sometimes. The chemistry and angst (great combo, right?) between Anna and him was amazing.

I even fell in love with the minor characters! That’s quite the feat. There is so much detail, I feel like I know them. Like I know what SOAP looks like, heard Etienne’s accent, seen the Notre Dame and the Seine and everything!!

My favorite part was the ending. *faints* It was so good, so perfectly planned out but I didn’t expect what happened AT ALL.

If you want some negative thoughts on this book, well, sorry. You won’t find it here. I am in love with this book, I will buy ALL Stephanie Perkins’ books, and the fact that I might get to meet her at YALLFest just blows my mind. I feel so lucky.

This book made my month! Recommended to EVERYONE, even the dudes. Despite the cover/title*, this isn’t chick lit.

Olivia

*Note that this book is about a girl named Anna who kisses a boy in France. Not as much about a french kiss. I was confused by this myself.! 🙂 Since I didn’t really summarize the book, here’s the GR page.

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

4 responses to “Book Review- Anna and the French Kiss

  1. mysweatyshirt

    Anna & The French Kiss is one of my favorite book! Totally understand what you mean, perfectly written and enchanting. 🙂 I re-read the book for countless times, I might read it again after reading this.

  2. ooh, this does sound like an addictive read! 🙂

Leave a Reply

