As if you needed proof…

….that I was a crazy fan of Daughter of Smoke and Bone! (I’m DYING for the sequel!!)  I know most of you haven’t read this book, but I feel the need to share this anyway! And again, I know I haven’t posted a review in forever. It pains me too, y’all. I’m stuck reading dumb summer reading stuff. But I’ll try to get a few more up before summer’s over! It’s weird, but I actually get WAY more book reviews done during the school year. More of a schedule. Also, keep your eyes peeled for a giveaway coming soon! 😀 (on that note, if you’re an author or publicist, let me know if you want to donate something for me to giveaway! ) Also, my review of it is here.

Now for the main purpose of this post. There was one particular part of Daughter of Smoke and Bone that made me want to do this. In this book, Karou (the main character) has wishes on a string, in the form of beads. When she pinches one, it disappears and her wish comes true! I spent days after I read this thinking about how amazing it would be to actually have some scuppies, ‘the pennies of the wishing world’. Well, I can’t get beads on a string (….. or can I? ;)) but I’ve had my eyes peeled for the perfect beads for months! And I finally found them! I bought them, ran to the store for some leather cord, and BAM!

Cool, right?!

The neat part of this is that I made it exactly like the book describes it. I can’t for the life of me find a quote explaining it, but maybe I’ll add one later! Anyway, it’s basically a long strand of beads that you can wear as almost anything.

A bracelet..

A headband… (hey look! It’s my hair! :D) Or my personal favorite…

An anklet! Just wearing these beads has made be feel… different. Sounds weird, but there is something really cool about wearing a piece of jewelry that to your average Joe is beads, but to you is wishes.

I love it so much!

Some of my favorite quotes from Daughter of Smoke and Bone:

**

“Wishes are false. Hope is true. Hope makes its own magic.”

**

“It’s not like there’s a law against flying.”
“Yes there is. The law of gravity.”

**

“Your soul sings to mine. My soul is yours, and it always will be, in any world. No matter what happens. I need you to remember that I love you.”

**

“She had been innocent once, a little girl playing with feathers on the floor of a devil’s lair. She wasn’t innocent now, but she didn’t know what to do about it. This was her life: magic and shame and secrets and teeth and a deep, nagging hollow at the center of herself where something was most certainly missing.”

**

“Until a few days ago, humans had been little more than legend to him, and now here he was in their world. It was like stepping into the pages of a book — a book alive with color and fragrance, filth and chaos — and the blue-haired girl moved through it all like a fairy through a story, the light treating her differently than it did others, the air seemed to gather around her like held breath. As if this whole place was a story about her.

**

I think this is my favorite book EVER. READ IT!!

8 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

8 responses to “As if you needed proof…

  1. I love the quotes! I love this book! I love you! Okay, will stop sounding creepy now.

  2. EponaReviews

    I am going to check this book out and I haven’t even read the whole post yet! *continues reading while also harassing you on twitter, muhahahaha*

Leave a Reply

