Book Review- Breathe

Hey guys! It’s my 3rd ever ARC!

*CAKE FOR EVERYONE*

Anyway, what makes this ARC special? It is signed! My first ever signed book! So I figure that now is a better time than ever to start taking my own pictures of the books I’m reviewing!

Release Date: October 2nd, 2012

Publisher: Greenwillow (imprint of HarperCollins)

Sorry if it looks a little warped. I tried my best to get a good picture without carpet in the background. Anyway, don’t you just love this cover? It’s beautiful in an eerie way. It was cut out of the picture, but above Sarah Crossan’s name, it says ‘it takes a lot of air to break free’. I just love that, and you really start to understand it once you get into the book.

And of course, I had to take a picture of the signature, because that alone makes this book worth so much more to me.

How awesome is that?! I just… wow. I’m so thrilled to have this book. Unfortunately, I don’t lend out anything that is signed as a rule. The signature just means a lot to me, and as much as I wish I could share with some of my truly lovely blogger friends, I won’t. Maybe next time. 😉

When it comes to ARC’s, I’m always a little worried about giving too much away. So I’m using the Goodreads summary, which is unusual for me.
The world is dead.
The survivors live under the protection of Breathe, the corporation that found a way to manufacture oxygen-rich air.
ALINA
has been stealing for a long time. She’s a little jittery, but not terrified. All she knows is that she’s never been caught before. If she’s careful, it’ll be easy. If she’s careful.
QUINN
should be worried about Alina and a bit afraid for himself, too, but even though this is dangerous, it’s also the most interesting thing to happen to him in ages. It isn’t every day that the girl of your dreams asks you to rescue her.
BEA
wants to tell him that none of this is fair; they’d planned a trip together, the two of them, and she’d hoped he’d discover her out here, not another girl.
And as they walk into the Outlands with two days’ worth of oxygen in their tanks, everything they believe will be shattered. Will they be able to make it back? Will they want to?

Sounds awesome,right? Well, the summary doesn’t quite capture the complex world-building of this novel. I read a lot of dystopian fiction, good and bad, and the author totally sold me on this world. Part of my mind believes this world actually exists. (you’ve read books like that before, right? It can’t just be me.) The characters were LOVELY. Realistic, enjoyable, and different! Sometimes I read books where the characters are all practically the same, and therefore agree on everything. That makes me irritated, because that doesn’t happen in real life. Each of the main characters were entertaining in their own special way. I feel like I connected most to Bea, of the three. We have the same frail-but-strong mindset. I also loved the minor character! It is quite the achievement for the author; I feel almost as connected to the minor characters as I do to the major ones. Maude, Silas, Petra, Jazz. I love them all.

I have nothing bad to say about this book. Nothing. Maybe everyone won’t love it as much as I did, but I highly doubt that. This is going to be a HUGE hit, I can feel it in my bones. I can see this book drawing equal female and male audiences, because not only is the book amazing, but romance isn’t the central focus. The writing is fabulous, and I really hope this is made into a movie someday. It would make a great one! Someone needs to snap up the movie rights for this, if they haven’t already.

I don’t do this often, but here is the link to where you can pre-order it. DO IT, y’all. You absolutely won’t regret it, that’s for sure. I’ll be putting Sarah Crossan’s other book on my TBR list ASAP. It’s called The Weight of Water, and it premiered in January of this year.

Happy Reading, y’all!

Olivia

P.S. BIG HUGE face-squishing hugs to Ari from The Fuzzy Mango for hosting this giveaway! You rock, girl!

2 Comments

Filed under ARC, Modern Fiction

2 responses to “Book Review- Breathe

  1. oh sounds like a great read! I’ve been seeing this around so I’ll be getting a copy when it comes out! 😀
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

