Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince

Hey y’all! The reason I haven’t posted any book reviews recently isn’t because I haven’t been reading (PSHH. As if), but it is because I’ve spent several days reading this series. And then several more stewing over these books.

The first, as you can see at the top, is Clockwork Angel. Just as with City of Bones, you’ve most likely heard of this book. It is the first in a trilogy of prequels to the City of Bones. I actually liked this first one in the series better than City of Bones. Maybe this is because of the setting. This prequel series is set several hundred years before the modern setting of the Mortal Instruments series. I like this time period, and I especially loved the twisted plot of this book! I knew going into it that there would be a love triangle (..of sorts) between Tessa, Will, and Jem later on. But I enjoyed how in this first book at least, there was minimal romance. Usually I enjoy the romantic element, but it felt right that we were introduced to the plot before the romance. Those who aren’t huge fans of romance will enjoy this one. The steampunk elements and old-timeish setting were things that I didn’t anticipate loving, but I did! My only qualm is the ending. It totally ripped me apart. And if I hadn’t had the next book sitting right next to me I might have cried. So I wouldn’t recommend reading this book unless you also have the sequel handy.

I’m not sure if I liked this one better than the first. The plot got even more twisted than the first, which was crazy because they were both so crazy to begin with. As much as I enjoyed it, this is when my extreme frustration/hatred of love triangles appears. I just hate them, ok? I think it’s cruel to make two different guys wait for you to pick like that, and it seems like something that wouldn’t even happen in real life. Most girls are decent enough to make up there minds fairly quickly. Thankfully, Tessa made up her mind pretty fast, thanks to some terrible stuff at the end of Clockwork Angel. The whole Will issue totally broke my heart. It was genius, but it broke my heart. After reading the first book, I was Team Will. And after the second, I am Team Jem. I love Jem. I hope they find a cure in Clockwork Princess, or I will be very sad. 😥 But the point is, the reason I hate love triangles is that at least on person ends up unhappy. By the end of this book, my heart had mended a little bit. But I know Clockwork Princess will just break it into a million pieces again. I kind of love this. I will probably be one of those crazed fans in line for the midnight premiere of Clockwork Princess. (I’ll take pictures to share with y’all, of course!) (also, Cassandra Clare has my favorite scene from Clockwork Prince on her website from Jem’s point of view. It’s amazing, so check it out if you haven’t already! Here)

Lastly, lets talk about the covers. I think the first two are meh-ish, and slightly ugly. But the third, which premiered just a few weeks ago, is gorgeous.

Overall, a great series that any Young Adult lover will enjoy! I’m not a SUPER obsessed crazed fan, but I’m really excited to read the last installment in the series!

Hope you enjoyed this review(s)!

Olivia

P.S. I just want to take a moment and thank everyone for the oodles of support I have been receiving over the past few days for my writing posts. I love you all, and the criticism, encouragement, and chat makes me even more eager to continue doing what I love. You guys are wonderful.

4 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction, Romance

4 responses to “Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince

  1. I am with you about love triangles. I have had the opinion that CC seriously dislikes love. It seemed like in both of her series, she was just not going to let them be happy. I feel like both girls suffer as much as the boys involved. It also seems to be two really great guys in both. I asked some authors, at the YA conference I attended, at a panel about Love triangles. Some of them know CC and seem to think that she has said that she just doesn’t want it to be easy. I don’t know, it just is hard to enjoy the rest of the story with all the pain and drama. I do love this series. Thanks for the reviews.

  2. Haven’t read this… I actually just found out about it when everyone on Twitter was trying to reveal the cover.. #fail

Leave a Reply

