Book Review: Lips Touch: Three Times

Once again, Laini Taylor did not disappoint! As you probably know, I LOVED Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and it left me very impatient to get the sequel, or at least some more of the lovely writing! Molly (here’s her blog) suggested I try Lips Touch: Three Times. I’m so glad she suggested it! I probably wouldn’t have picked it up on my own, given the strange-ish cover. But now you guys know not to judge this book by it’s cover!

I’m actually going to use the Goodreads summary on this one, because I can’t think how to describe it.

Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers’ souls:
Goblin Fruit: In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today’s savvy girls?
Spicy Little Curses: A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.
Hatchling: Six days before Esme’s fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons?

Wacky summary, right? That’s probably because this isn’t your average book. Not only are there 3 short-ish stories, but they each have that cool, quirky style that I love so much about Laini Taylor. It sort of reminds me of John Greene (I’m not his biggest fan, but I do enjoy his books) and how every one of his books has a little bit of his weirdness in it. This book is especially great for anyone who liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and if the summary on this one didn’t catch you, check that one out. It’s a lot less weird, but just as awesome.

It also has awesome illustrations by her husband Jim Di Bartolo. They are even more amazing after you read the stories!

The stories are the perfect length to read, because even though they leave you wanting more, it is easier to stop and sleep (in my case) than a chapter book that keeps you hooked until the end. The writing was just as beautiful as that in DSB, almost more because she got to explain settings and characters 3 times more than the other! (if that makes sense…) They were a little strange, because they are meant to be a type of legend. But that’s what makes them so great, you’ve never read anything like this before. I know people who groan and sigh when you say “Well, it’s a short story collection..” but even if you don’t like short stories, you’d enjoy this. If I had to choose my favorite story (so hard!) I’d choose Spicy Little Curses. I just think it’s so heartbreaking and sweet. Goblin Fruit is awesome as well!

I just thought I’d tell you guys about this before I go! My friend Alice and I were talking about this book, and she told me that the Amazon synopsis began with: “In the style of Stephanie Meyer,…” and I couldn’t believe it! But sure enough, that’s what it says. I just find this so funny, because Laini Taylor’s stories and books could not be farther from Stephanie Meyers’. It’s crazy.

I hope everyone checks this book out! (though I recommend reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone first!)

Olivia

5 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

5 responses to “Book Review: Lips Touch: Three Times

  1. I think Amazon wrote that because they’re both published by Little Brown and Company… and there are legions of Stephenie Meyer fans…

    Liani Taylor’s writing flows so well and is so descriptive. *.*

    I haven’t checked this book out yet but sounds interesting! 😀

    crazyredpen.blogspot.com

    • Thanks for the comment, Alice! You’re probably right. I can’t imagine there are STILL legions of them…. aren’t they done with that by now?!
      I LOVE Laini Taylor! You should definitely check this one out! I’d love to do a double review with you! 🙂
      Olivia

  2. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

    I’ve not really looked at Daughter of Smoke and Bone or thought about reading it, but this sounds like a fantastic book.
    It kind of reminds me of L.J. Smith’s Night World series with the three books in one.
    I may have to pick this one up! 🙂

    • Awesome! It is truly amazing. A modern classic. I hope you do!
      Olivia
      P.S.- your comments keep going to spam! You might want to check that out. 😦

      • Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews

        Ugh, that’s so annoying! It’s only happening on certain wordpress blogs, I just don’t understand it! 😦 And I don’t know what to do.

        Ahhh, well I’ll have to check them both out. Thanks for the great review.

        Olivia.

Leave a Reply

