Book Review- Between the Lines

Hey guys! Sorry I haven’t posted a book review in a while. I’ve been busy with life, and another blog, actually! Me and some friends of mine from Twitter decided to create a book club blog! We’ve noticed that while there isn’t a very good place to read a book along with others who love books as much as you do! Today, we posted to introduce ourselves and the concept. Also, there is a poll up to decide which book we are reading first! I would love to have some of my readers involved in this, so I hope you follow and vote in the poll! Here’s the link. For the next book club, our choices are

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Bittersweet by Sarah Ockler

The more votes we have, the better! 🙂

And now on to the real review.

I liked this book. It was not a LOVE book, and it isn’t going on my favorites list, but it was good. It was sweet and pure, and I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys fairy tales!

What would happen if you were a character in a fairy tale, but you were trapped? That’s Oliver’s problem. He plays a dashing prince who goes off to rescue a beautiful woman (who he in fact does not like at all) and he dreams of escaping the pages of Between the Lines to Otherworld. He’s tried everything to get out, but he can’t, and it feels futile when it seems everyone around him is content with having their lives written for them. When he discovers he can talk to one particular Reader, Delilah, they plot together to help him escape. Oliver, because he hates living the same life over and over every day. Delilah, because she believes he is the prince of her dreams. But how can a relationship work when you live in two different worlds?

Like I said, adorable. Something I never thought about before (because generally, the books I read don’t have pictures), the possibility that the characters in a book might not actually want to be there. This could have been a really thought provoking, intuitive, and serious book. But it was written to be a story about impossible love, with all of the characteristics of a fairy tale (princes, trolls, pirates, fairies, and mermaids). It could have been better, even though it was good. Oliver certainly was swoon-worthy. Very. I just found it falling flat sometimes. The sections that were written of the actual fairy tale were nice and cute, and I wish I could have that book! But I found the rest of the story repetitive sometimes. I understood that Oliver was trying everything possible to escape, but it seemed like he was doing the same thing every time. Which was annoying.

I believe this would have been better as a novella. I know that they don’t sell as well as normal length books do, but it’s not like Jodi Picoult isn’t an established author. It just felt too drawn out and long-ish.

My recommendation of this one comes with strings attached. 🙂 I would especially recommend this to younger readers (it’s very pure) or those looking for something simple-ish to read on the beach. If you have better books handy, skip over this one. But if you don’t, and you have this available, go for it!

Happy Reading, y’all!

Olivia

10 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

10 responses to “Book Review- Between the Lines

  1. I just had to check the photo 3 times to make sure I was reading a review of a book by Jodi Picoult, it doesn’t sound like her at all! Even though I trust that I should skip over it like you said (I have so many books to read!), I might have to check it out just because it’s so different from all her other story lines.
    Also I checked out your new blog and LOVE IT!

  2. I am a major Jodi Picoult fan and I have been wanting to read this for a while now!
    I should definitely bump this up in my TBR list! Thanks fr the great review!

  3. I’ve read this a while back, and while I didn’t find it mindblowingly lovable, it’s definitely a great read. To be honest, I was expecting a heart-breaking story like My Sister’s Keeper, and wasn’t really prepared for how light this read was. Glad you enjoyed it!

  4. Dana

    I have a lot of Jodi’s books but this doesn’t sound like any of them haha I might give it a try it sounds cute!

  5. I haven’t read this one yet, but it is on my list. I have heard that it is a really good book, but not a great one. And I have heard that it was great. I have heard that it was awful. I think this is one that I really have to read to know for sure what I am going to think of it. Thanks for your review!

Leave a Reply

