Changes and Non-Changes

Is that title proper grammar? I have no clue. But I’m using it anyway. It has a nice ring to it. Anyway, this is going to be a pretty short post. Basically, things are changing around here, and I’m trying to keep you updated!

Changing:

  • I’m working on getting my own specific header! The one I’m using now comes with the theme, and that bothers me. If you have any suggestions for the banner, please let me know!
  • I have two sidebars now. Minor change, I know. But I like it better this way.
  • I now have two more tabs on the top bar. The Poem of the Week section is gone, replaced by My Wishlist and Policies sections. As you probably know, I recently received my first ARC. I know one ARC doesn’t mean much, but now I am prepared to receive more (perhaps!) as my blog continues to grow. My Wishlist has books I’d love to receive but that haven’t been released yet. Policies tells you the basics on how to donate a book, what I’ll accept, and what a typical review has. Just to be clear, I DON’T expect to receive more ARC’s. I want to be prepared for that some time in the future.
  • Ok, so this hardly counts, but Olivia’s Opinions is growing! I talked a little bit about this in my last review. I now have 103 followers (!!!!) and that number is steadily growing. This excites me to no end!

Not Changing:

  • Even though I am starting to become more professional about the way I blog, I am still making bad jokes, occasionally ranting, and writing my own summaries. I am also totally winging the way I write reviews, because that is what seems to work for me!
  • I am not straying from the general YA fiction genre that I love. At least not much.
  • Even if I review the occasional ARC, I like to review books that you can get your hands on RIGHT NOW.
  • This kind of goes along with the first point. I refuse to change who I am. My personality always comes out in my reviews. I see no reason to stop reviewing like I always do and become boring and objective.
  • If you are on Twitter, or are otherwise integrated into the book blogging community, you will have noticed some of the hate on book bloggers lately. People take sides, say things they don’t really mean, and all around start a huge argument that makes no one look good. It all started because one blogger wrote a very negative review of a book on Goodreads, and the author got involved. I refuse to take sides on the matter, because like I said, in this fight, no one comes out on top. Everyone who participates looks bad. The point is, when you write book reviews, sometimes they are negative. I promise all of my readers that I would never post a review that wasn’t truthful to my real opinion. Negative opinions are a sizable part of what I post, because I tell the truth. A negative review often saves someone precious reading time that could be better spent elsewhere. I always try to present the truth in a nice way (so an author wouldn’t get offended if they read it) and I never hate on the author personally. (what is the point in that, really? It’s just rude.) The point is, I will continue posting my real opinions. Period.

The end!I know this post was unnecessary, as some of you have probably noticed these changes (at least the physical ones), but I like to explain it myself! 🙂

Hope your week is going beautifully!

Olivia

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Changes and Non-Changes

  1. I am glad you posted exactly how you feel, which to me seems right on. I am bummed that this drama is happening. But be aware, that although you may review a book negatively, it is never hurtful or malicious. I think that is the difference. You are not judging the writing or the author, just giving your opinion on the book so others can use that to make the decision to read it or not. That is why I follow your blog and why I write my own. Those snarky reviews are not helpful to me. Just the facts please. AND you are doing wonderfully.

    • Thank you so much, Gaby. I totally agree. You and Sara do a great job keeping your reviews a balance of truthful and polite, and I hope I do that as well. Drama on the Internet is a waste of time and can be very hurtful. I will be honest when I review, but I want no part in that.
      Thanks again for the sweet words!
      O

  2. “Even though I am starting to become more professional about the way I blog, I am still making bad jokes, occasionally ranting, and writing my own summaries. I am also totally winging the way I write reviews, because that is what seems to work for me!” <— and that's what makes you a good book blogger. 🙂 Write for yourself, write what makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

