Book Review- Time Between Us

Holy wow, guys. My first review of an ARC. I feel overwhelmed all of a sudden. I’m so happy and excited, though! It’ll be a new thing to recommend a book that hasn’t even come out yet! But also very cool 🙂

So, first!

Expected release date: October 9th, 2012

Publisher: Hyperion

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone (and here’s her cool blog)

Alright! Since I am afraid to give too much info about this book, I’m going to use Goodreads’ summary. (GASP) I know, I know. I never do that! Mostly because I know anyone could go on Goodreads and get a totally objective summary. Not that it isn’t totally OK to use Goodreads’ summaries every time. But I always want a little more… personality. And information. Because some of these Goodreads summaries tell you absolutely nothing about the book. Honestly, what is the point of that? And now that I am done ranting (…sorry), here it is!

Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett’s unique ability to travel through time and space brings him into Anna’s life, and with him, a new world of adventure and possibility.
As their relationship deepens, they face the reality that time might knock Bennett back where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate—and what consequences they can bear in order to stay together.

I loved this book! You should know that I got this through Twitter, it was passed down to me through another book blogger who was sweet enough to send me this and Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult (which just came out a few weeks ago). I had no idea what book(s) I was going to receive, and I certainly didn’t get my hopes up that I would enjoy it as much as I did!

I don’t read a lot of time travel books. I own but still haven’t read Hourglass by Myra McEntire (which is supposed to be an awesome take on time travel). So I can’t compare this very fairly to other similar books. But from what I could tell, the time travel was very well done! It was practical, and there wasn’t any extra ‘fru-fru’ stuff like glowing or clouds of smoke. It was pretty believable, actually.

I connected with Anna very well! It’s hard to explain, but when she got in situations, I always felt like she reacted the way I would, the way a normal teenage girl would. It’s refreshing to read some YA where the author makes the characters so real and utterly believable. Bennett was wonderful and totally dreamy. Once again, I don’t want to give too much away, but he’s to die for. Trust me.

Anna and Bennett’s fates were so twisted, so impossible, it broke my heart. And then shattered it again. And then pieced it together with Elmer’s glue. And then made it whole again. It was fantastic!

I highly recommend this book. Despite the look of the cover (not that it isn’t beautiful), it is not Chick-lit! I think you should go pre-order this book! (here’s a link to the Amazon) A very enjoyable read, and I have no doubts that it will explode in popularity after it’s release!

Happy Reading, fellow bookies!

Olivia

12 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

12 responses to “Book Review- Time Between Us

  1. Yay! I know when I got to read a book before it was released I was over the moon. A little scared the book police were going to come get it and say NO! But really so excited and honored. So interesting to read about your thoughts on Goodreads summary. I am always afraid I will give away too much. Ha! This sounds like an interesting read. Gonna put it on my to-read list!

    • I’m so happy to have had this opportunity! I don’t blame you at all for using the Goodreads summary! It’s probably the most consistent way of summarizing. My summaries are a bit all over the place sometimes! 🙂
      I’m glad you’re giving it a try! Hope you enjoy it!
      Olivia

  2. Oh, yay! I’m so glad you connected with the characters. If you don’t do that, the book isn’t nearly as fun. I love time travel, though I don’t read about it too much, and this sounds like a fabulous take on it. It sounds gorgeous and romantic, and is going on my TBR stack now. Fantastic review, darling!

  3. PamM

    Awesome review. It looks like a really good book and I love time travel books so that is a plus.

  4. This sounds like a great book! I’ve been waiting to get my hands on it. I’m glad the characters were so real; that makes a huge difference! Your second-to-last paragraph really got me… sounds like this one is a bit of a roller-coaster!

  5. I don’t read a lot of time travel books either. Hourglass is one that I have read and I loved it. Time Between Us was on the library shelf and I decided to bring it home. I am glad that I did, thanks to your review! Thanks so much for the review!

  6. Sarah O

    Yay glad I found a positive review of this. I’ve read a few before, and most were positive and a couple were disappointed. The last one I read wasnt such a great one and I’m JUST about to start reading it, so I wanted kind of a hopeful one to read first to be in a good frame of mind. Well, I’ll be reading it as soon as I finish this book I’m kind of hating and have less than 100 pages left of.

    Also, I hadn’t read Hourglass and now I feel like I’ve never even read a synopsis, because I didn’t know it was about time travel despite the title and oter obvious clues. Anyway, can’t wait to get started on this one!

  7. all i have to say is I LOVE THIS BOOK.

Leave a Reply

