Book Review- Under the Never Sky

This book is a great example of why I love YA Fiction/Romance/Dystopian books! No wonder this book is considered to be just as awesome as Shatter Me and Divergent, because it truly is! I thought I would like this book, just because it seems like the type of book I really get into. I had no idea I would LOVE it!

This book is about a girl named Aria who lives in a world unlike our own. Their atmosphere is always cloudy, covered in a giant lightning storm called the Aether storm. Outside of the safety of the Pods, ‘Savages’ and cannibals live everywhere. After she is framed for a crime she didn’t commit, Aria is abandoned outside of the Pods to fend for herself. She expects to die, but when she is discovered by the ‘Savage’ named Peregrine(or Perry), he keeps her alive. They need each other- Aria for survival, Perry for information, but they hate each other. The last thing they expect is to fall in love- The Savage and The Mole.

The writing is beautiful, even if it is a shadow of Laini Taylor’s awesomeness (let’s face it. No one can replicate that.) I really connected with this book- especially Aria’s frustration at not being able to support herself and be independent. I wasn’t bored for a second, even if action isn’t prevalent for at least the first half of the novel. Watching the characters develop was cool, because you knew they would end up together, but they hate each other for so long!! And speaking of romance, once you get to it, it is one of my favorites. So sweet, because of each of their… abilities, you could say. (hard to explain. just read it!)

A book that has changed my perspective on things for sure. For instance: now Peregrine sounds manly, Perry sounds endearing, Talon sounds normal, and Roar sounds playful. (those are all character names, by the way.) Oh, and if you talked about ‘smelling someone’s temper’ I would jump right in without missing a beat.

I recommend this to everyone!! Not just teens, either. According to my new ratings scale (more on all of these site changes tomorrow) this book gets 5 stars! (i.e. HOLY WOW) I hope you take my advice and get into this series!

Happy Reading, y’all!

Olivia

5 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

5 responses to “Book Review- Under the Never Sky

  1. You have talked me into it 🙂

  2. mollyspring

    Your synopsis does give a better indication of what the book is about than the goodreads blurb! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I’ll feel more confident recommending this title to my dystopian romance addicts at the library now 🙂

Leave a Reply

