More books! And a wish…

Hooray! It’s that time of week again! The time when I come home, exhausted but elated from shelving books, with handfuls of delicious new titles to chow down on!

Gaby and I were having a discussion on Twitter not 6 hours ago about how angels are irritatingly overused. As are vampires. (and although we didn’t add this one, definitely werewolves) The only angel book I’ve ever loved was Daughter of Smoke and Bone, which hardly qualifies because it’s only half about angels. But Goodreads recommended this one for me, and while Goodreads isn’t always right, maybe this is a gem! Who knows? Course, last time I said that ( about The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight) I was very wrong. I’m willing to give it a try. (and please. If Swiyou’ve read this and it was crap, please tell me to save me the trouble!)

I really have no clue what this is about. I was intrigued by the tageline

“A novel of love, Mary Poppins, and Fenway Park.”

OK? I guess I was intrigued by that because it seemed those things didn’t go together at all! Because really, what was I thinking?! I hate baseball (I think it is the most boring sport ever. Please don’t hate me.) and I’ve never even seen Mary Poppins (I know. Ridiculous. Once again, please don’t hate me.) The only thing I AM interested in is the love part. Which probably sucks. But I love discovering unpopular books and liking them. We’ll see.

This is a trilogy. I just got the two I saw on the shelves, and realized when I looked this picture up that I got the 1st and 3rd in the series! Ooops. Ahh well. OK, so I found out about these books through Sara and Gaby’s blog. They are about trolls. Yes, I know. Trolls. It is quite a big step for me to read a book about trolls, let me tell you! I think you should read the review for yourself though, so here. Goodbye to vampires, werewolves, angels, and faeries. Hello, trolls!

This book had been on my to-read list for… forever! So excited to finally read it!

And that brings me to the ‘wish’ part of this post. I don’t know if any of you have ever read The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen. If so, awesome. If not, you should. It’s a great book. Anyway, there is a minor character (who I can’t for the life of me remember the name of) who has a sort of ‘magical power’. Almost all of Sarah Addison Allen’s books have a hint of magic. I’ve read 3 of them, and enjoyed each one! This character attracts books. Books physically follow her around. But not just any books. The book or books are relevant to what she is going through at a specific period in time. The books try to take care of her. They show up all around her and pester her until she reads them.

Now tell me.

Would you like to have this as a ‘magical quality’? I don’t know about everyone else, but this and flying come to a close tie in my mind. To have books practically love you, to be there for you, would be amazing! Books have always been there for me, just not in a magical way. But sometimes, when I find a book randomly and love it, I feel like books are almost finding me. Daughter of Smoke and Bone, for example. I had no reason to get this. No recommendations, no idea what it was about. But for some reason I did, and it was so perfect for me. And then today, while shelving, I found 4 books on my to-read list, and I wasn’t even searching. I don’t know. To me, there is no ‘magic’ here. But my wish is that all of you readers out there find the perfect book. And I hope you enjoy it when it shows up in and unexpected place to love you.

Happy 4th of July, fellow American readers! Have a great, safe, and fun one!

Olivia

6 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

6 responses to “More books! And a wish…

  1. Ok, I have read Forbidden. It was not an awful Angel book, but by no means is this a book that could not compare to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I actually love Alec, he is an angel, who plays the guitar AND has an Irish accent. And you know how I feel about accents! Whoop Whoop! It will be enjoyable but not earth shaking. Under a Never sky is on my to-read so I am eagerly awaiting your opinion! I do have a confession, I am currently reading an angel book, even after our afternoon twitter blast on angels, vampires and werewolves. Sweet Evil! I will let you know what I think. Thanks for the encouragement this afternoon and for linking to our lil blog. Happy READING!

    • I’ve started it, and the one thing that I’m LOVING is Alec! I’ll be sure to let you know about Under the Never Sky! No prob bout the encouragement, you totally deserve it. I really should be sleeping right now, but DSB is keeping my mind awake. AKIIIVVAAA!!!!
      O

  2. I have shove I bought it when I bought city of bones! Tell me how it is! Looking forward to a review 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | Mad for Living

Leave a Reply

