My (sort of) Disney Trip

That title sure is a little ominous, isn’t it? Well, as much as I hate how ominous that sounds, it is mostly true. It all started on the day before we left, last Friday, after I made that post informing everyone of my weeklong hiatus.

My mom: “Oh, by the way, the forecast is calling for rain every day we’re in Disney. We can deal with it!”

ME: “Of course! We’ve done Disney in the rain before, many times. No problem.

And then, upon arrival:

Mom: “I just checked the weather. SO… it isn’t just rain, it’s Tropical Storm Debby.”

Me: “WHAT?!”

Oh yes, folks. I was at Disney World. During a Tropical Storm.

OK, so I wasn’t actually IN Disney on the days it rained. It was storming so hard, we skipped those days. We amused ourselves by going to Downtown DIsney, shopping outlets, and that adorable little town called Celebration.

No matter how amusing those things were, we still longed for Disney. As a family who loves it so much, it is impossibly frustrating to drive 10 hours and be just 5 minutes away from the place, just to have it denied by some storm. We decided that we wanted to go after all, if only for a day, on one of those lucky ones toward the end of our stay that was sunny. Not as simple as you think. Our tickets were for 4 days, we only wanted to go for one, and tickets expire 14 days after you first use them. Just buy tickets for 1 day only, right? Well, that only works if you can get to the park, which was hard because our car chose that moment to be stupid and mess up. Don’t ask me what was wrong with it, all I know is that we sat in a car dealership for HOURS. And then we went to Magic Kingdom.

This whole ordeal lasted almost a week.

AS crazy as it sounds, I actually enjoyed the trip. You see, my parents have been blessed with many things. One of them is a talent to see the silver lining in every situation. Something I, sadly, lack. I’m just too… sarcastic, I guess? But their ability to turn everything into something good really saved this almost Disney trip.

The good thing is, we didn’t use our 4 day tickets. We are probably going back during Christmas (which, by the way, is way more fun than any other time of year and DOESN’T have hurricanes). Everything turned out OK. Our car was fine. We were safe. We actually ended up having fun. We didn’t get sunburned. 🙂

There isn’t always a moral to what I post. In fact, most of the time there isn’t one. But this is another Pearl in the Dirt oppurtunity. This is something I am working on too, for myself. Instead of thinking about how a situation could be better, think about how it could be worse. You will feel much, much better.

I am very glad to be back, everyone! I missed posting and reading. I’m happy to finally be settling into a normal* summer routine.

Have a great weekend!

Olivia

*normal implying a teen who doesn’t read like mad, therefore being used in a relative sense in this case. 😀

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My (sort of) Disney Trip

  1. I’m sorry your trip had a few unexpected hiccups, but glad y’all made the most of it! I’m going to Universal this week and am super excited! Hopefully we have good weather! 😉

Leave a Reply

