Hurrah for Audiobooks!

As most of you know, I am going to Disney World tomorrow! I am very excited, but here’s the catch. We are driving, and Disney is about 10 hours of driving from where I live. In the past years, I have read books almost the entire way (crazy, I know). But lately, my motion sickness/seasickness has gotten worse. Not to mention my vision (I have to wear reading glasses). I decided that it was high time I check out an audiobook.

I started listening to this while packing this afternoon! Surprisingly, it is only 4 hours long. I am enjoying it so far! The narration helps with the otherwise slightly boring (sorry, Jane) book.

I haven’t started this one yet, because it is something like 14 hours long and I want to use that on the drive! I’ve heard great and terrible things about this book. I can’t wait to read…. err listen for myself and decide!

How did I miss the hype for this? I’m pretty sure it came out a while ago, but still! I’ll be listening to this one on the way back, I believe!

I will be reviewing the two modern ones (Jane Eyre too, maybe). I am also wondering about how an audiobook affects your ability to review a book. So far, I have noticed that I am more interested and am paying attention to details I would have missed before. I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic though …

I really wish I didn’t have to take such a huge break from posting, guys!! I miss being on a regular schedule, what with the roof and all that mess. I will hopefully be back and posting on next Friday. If something changes, it may be later.

I have also been told that there is a developing tropical storm in the Gulf that very well could hit us while we are in Florida. If so, I will probably buy the hotel’s wi-fi and post (because frankly, hotel for 2 days straight=claustrophobia and boredom). The chance of an actual hurricane is pretty slim, but the chance I will get super bored and read all bajillion books I’m bringing is high! That means more reviews!

Lastly, I will be tweeting LIVE from Disney World! If you don’t already follow me, I highly suggest doing so, because that is the only way I can update about books I’m reading, hurricanes, and FUN! If you don’t have a twitter, just look in my blog sidebar. It shows my latest tweet! (I’m @OliviasOpinions)

Miss you bunches!

Olivia

P.S. I CAN respond to @ messages from my phone (even without wi-fi) so if you have a question, ask! ๐Ÿ˜‰

6 Comments

Filed under Classic, Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

6 responses to “Hurrah for Audiobooks!

  1. O, I drive an hour to and from work and listen to audio books all the time! They are so entertaining. I have been meaning to tell you I just started The Weird Sisters on audio (LOVE it so far) and am about half way through physically reading Insurgent (like it ok but not as good as The Hunger Games). Oh and my hubby and I are going to Universal (mostly for the Harry Potter exhibit!) over the 4th of July! Can’t wait to hear about Disney, have fun!!

    • Really? That’s wonderful! And I’m so happy you’re enjoying Weird Sisters (it struck me as something you would like from the start!) so JELLY that you are going to HP world! Of all of the times I’ve been to Disney, I have never been to Universal! Hope you enjoy your trip! And if you want to chat while I’m gone, Twitter is the best way!
      Happy Reading Mandy!
      Olivia

  2. mollyspring

    Audiobooks are great for road trips.

    I adored Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s worth the 14 hour time commitment, I promise. Your drive will fly by!

Leave a Reply

