Book Review- The Fault in Our Stars

As you all know, I was extremely excited to read this book. I guess I judged it based on all of the hype surrounding this book. EVERYONE loves this book. Most of the time there is a reason for such a strong response, and no doubt this hype is not entirely unwarranted. But after reading this book (and liking it, for the most part) I have decided that while it is good, it is most certainly not the best book ever that fell from the sky streaming glitter and rainbows.

This book is about a boy and a girl who meet at a cancer support group. The girl, Hazel Grace, had lung cancer and breathes through a cannula (one of those oxygen-puff things that goes through your nose). She survived thanks to a ‘tumor shrinking miracle’ that has bought her a few years. When she meets Augustus Waters, everything changes. Augustus had bone cancer (I think.. sorry) and has a prosthetic leg. Even though Hazel has very poor health and Augustus is mostly healed, they fall in love. Hazel resists Augustus at first, trying to ‘minimize the damage’ that she will cause when she dies. But she can’t resist forever.

I actually didn’t cry at this book! The end was very sad, but since I didn’t connect very much with the characters, it didn’t affect me as much as it did some other people. Before I start naming all of the things I disliked about this book, let me just say that I really did like it! No matter how many bad things I have to say, it was good! I can’t see myself reading it over and over, or even adding it to my Favorites! But it was an interesting and engaging book!

Now for the negatives. This book is notorious for being quotable, and that it is. There are some very fabulous quotes in this book! The thing is, I find it hard to believe that the people in this book actually SAID these things. Just like in the Weird Sisters, how it was a little unbelievable that their father spoke in iambic pentameter. I just find it very hard to get past the unrealistic-ness of these characters, as far as the dialogue goes anyway. It was also very short, which was a little annoying. I also wish I could say that this book made cancer less depressing, but it didn’t! It was harshly real, with nothing to cushion the sadness. It was pretty rough to read. The Weird Sisters was easier to get through.

Do I recommend this? Yes. I think everyone should read this. It seems to be more enjoyable for some people than others (aren’t all books like that?) and in this case my slight cynicism got in the way of liking this too much.

Have a great weekend, guys! 🙂

Olivia

8 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

8 responses to “Book Review- The Fault in Our Stars

  1. mollyspring

    Wow. I’ve heard Printz buzz for this book, but still haven’t read it yet myself. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

  2. These days many cancers have different endings with more and more survivors each year. Keep up the objective opinons!

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

  3. Pingback: ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green | thoughts on my bookshelf

Leave a Reply

