Book Review- The Weird Sisters

I was pleasantly surprised by this book! I started it after I ate dinner last night… and then finished it at almost midnight. This is not a short book, either! But the sweet language and charismatic characters hooked me, and I couldn’t help myself!

This book is about 3 sisters; Rosalind, Bianca, and Cordelia (Rose, Bean, and Cordy), named for the three Weird Sisters mentioned somewhere in Shakespeare’s works (I’m not that familiar, sorry). From the description fin the inside of the book, I figured this book was just about the 3 sisters, returning from the far corners of the world to their hometown. It failed to mention, however, that this reason was because their mother had been diagnosed with breast cancer. The author does a remarkable job at keeping this book from becoming depressing, because with the whole cancer thing that easily could have happened. Secrets also play a large part in this book as well, because each of them (the sisters) has a secret they are keeping. Even though you find their secrets out in the first few scenes of the book, I don’t want to give them away!

This is not a teen/ YA book. I enjoy that genre very much, but it was also a little nice to take a break from the sordid love triangles and look at more pressing troubles like jobs, life, moving, children, and cancer. It is brutally honest in the way the cancer is described, vicious and unmerciful. It spoke to me in a special way because my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer in February of 2010. She had a similar experience with the cancer, minus the chemo and radiation. We got lucky, it could have been much worse. But it was still terrible, one of the worst periods of my life, so I understand intimately what the sisters were going through. I love my mom and I am so grateful to still have her with me today and every day. By the way, Happy Birthday Mom! πŸ˜‰

Now that I have gotten WAY off topic, back to the book. I highly recommend this one! That being said, it is not everyone’s book. I would go so far as to say that this is a ‘girl’s book’ (I usually try to stay away from gender-book stereotyping, because anyone can like any genre they choose. But what with all of the sisterly love, and quite frankly all of the estrogen in this book, I dub this ‘woman’s territory’) This strikes me as a good book club book. I wish I hadn’t devoured it as quickly as I had, it would have been nice to discuss certain elements of the book over a cup of hot tea. My excuse: “it was just too good!”

A few turnoffs about this book:

1. a lot of ‘remembering’. Often one of the sisters is doing something absolutely average like wiping off a counter with a rag, and they suddenly get a full on flashback reminiscing a time they played tag with a rag with the sisters, blah blah, insert overly corny family love here.

2. a wee bit slow paced

3. a totally strange and unknown narrator (since it refers to the sisters as ‘we’ I kept thinking of it as the sister’s combined conscious, and they were remembering that period. Weird, I know.) I knew going into this book that the narrator would be different (thank you, Goodreads ;)) and that helped. As much as I read, sometimes a little challenge is nice.

Overall, a really nice book, and well worth spending the time to read!

Happy Reading everyone!

Olivia

P.S. I forgot to mention the whole Shakespeare deal. So, their father is a professor of Shakespeare. They were raised with it, so when they are home together, sometimes they talk in lines of Shakespeare. This can be perceived as awesome, strange, or totally unlikely. I think it is all three. Oh and they are a TOTAL book family. I can’t believe I haven’t mentioned it until now. But reading about a family that is so integrated into reading and books, as a book blogger, is pretty awesome. Bye now. πŸ˜‰

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction

4 responses to “Book Review- The Weird Sisters

  1. The Weird Sisters are from Macbeth. You should read it.

  2. Wow! This sounds heavy, I am a bit like you, I try to stay away from the real life stuff. Especially cancer, my mom and mother in law both passed from cancer and its hard for me to not relate and then be bummed. Thanks for reviewing. I considered it because of the title. Of course, being not as well read as some, I leaned toward the title because of the band in the Harry Potter books! HA! Great review!

    • Hey, that’s cool! Harry Potter is AH- MAZING!! I understand how hard it is, with the cancer thing. I suggest you tackle it anyway! I know it is hard… it has taken me YEARS to get used to it. But (spoiler alert) the mom doesn’t die. It is hard to relive, but the way they grow and the other side of the book is great! It is ultimately up to you, of course. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Gaby. πŸ™‚
      Olivia

Leave a Reply

