Double Book Review- Eve and Going Too Far

Hey guys! I’ve been meaning to review several of the books I’ve read recently, and I’m knocking out two birds with one stone! These are also sort of mini reviews, so everything works out in the end!

You may recognize this from my library haul a few days ago. I had very high hopes for this book, probably because it seems to be held in the same esteem as some of my favorite other YA books (Shatter Me, Wither, etc). And maybe I shouldn’t have done that, because not every book is made for me, or anyone else. But because I read so many fantastic books, the mediocre ones fade away a little bit. I only recommend the very best to you, my friends! 🙂

The idea of this book is OK, I just wasn’t a fan of the execution. The world building in this book was very unimpressive, I found myself repeatedly asking ‘but why?’ about basic plot elements. Many of the themes (using women as breeding machines, males shunned, wilderness, half the population dead, terrible government) are trite and overused in Young Adult fiction, in my opinion. Some things in this book can be praised, however. I liked the narrator, I am excited for the next book, and the romance stole my heart. Not everything was perfect (obviously) and it won’t be going on my favorites list, but I am excited to hear more from these characters and this story.

This was a very shallow piece of fiction. A teenager- oriented piece with a lot of drugs, alcohol, law- breaking, romance(a lot of *ahem* romance, if you know what I mean. I’m keeping this family friendly here.) The author was almost trying to make it annoying… but no matter how much that stuff bothered me, ‘chick-lit’ gets me every time. This only took me about an hour to read (crazy, even for me!) and it was frivolous, but for some reason I enjoy this type. If you enjoy this genre, go for it!

There are so many good books out there (just check the ‘my favorites’ section) 😉 I’d go for one of those over either of these.

I’ll be back soon with review of The Peach Keeper and The Sky is Everywhere. They both blew my mind, so stay tuned! 😀

Olivia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

Leave a Reply

