Book Review- The Sky is Everywhere

This is a beautiful, beautiful book full of tears and laughter. I can’t imagine the last time I read a book this powerful… sure, I’ve read some pretty rockin’ awesome books lately, but- WOW!

This book follows a musical girl named Lennie Walker, and her recovery from her older sister Bailey’s recent death. It is written with as much personality as a diary, you become very close to Lennie, closer than you thought possible. When I first read the inside cover and saw the dreaded love triangle, I wanted to put it down.( those break my heart, by the way) But I am so glad I didn’t! She is still grieving and depressed, but she still has to choose between two boys: Toby, Bailey’s boyfriend, and the new boy Joe. Here I quote from the Goodreads summary…

‘For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding…’

The little things in this book stole my heart. How Lennie and her sister always read while taking walks, the neighbors new to watch out for them. How she loves her copy of Wuthering Heights so much, she has to overcome her attachment to it. Her recounting conversations she had with Bailey before she died.

It takes a great deal of skill to write about something as serious as death without making the book depressing. It was definitely NOT depressing! Congratulations, Jandy Nelson.

I admire this book, this author. The writing is phenomenal and so, so poignant. I got a wee tear in my eye several times, but I congratulate the author for making me want to laugh, to sing, and to cry, all in the same page. No one should miss this book. Ever. I am ordering my own copy, so I can write in it, bookmark, and highlight. And pass it down to my children someday, give it to friends who are going through loss.

Hope everyone enjoyed this review! 😀 Happy Wednesday-almost-Thursday!

Olivia

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

4 responses to “Book Review- The Sky is Everywhere

  1. You convinced me! I want to read this!

  2. mollyspring

    This is on my to-read list. I look forward to reading it even more now!

Leave a Reply

