Book Review- Illuminate

This has to be one of my favorite book covers that I’ve seen! I devoured this book, although it took me a few days or so, because of its size. I have already added this to the my favorites page, and this is a book I can see myself reading more than once for sure!

This book is about a girl named Haven Terra who scores an awesome internship to work at a hotel in Chicago. I can’t even tell you how hard it is to simplify this, but basically Haven and her friends (the other interns) Lance and Dante find out that the people they work for are in the business of souls. Yeah… weird. Their bosses have ‘minions’ called the Oufit, who are people that have sold their souls to the Prince (i.e.- Satan) in exchange for everlasting beauty and youth. Until, at least, they have to go back ‘down’ to *cough* Hell/ the underworld. The bosses Aurelia and Lucian want to turn Haven, Dante, and Lance into members of the outfit, because they have been marked as sort of angels-in-training which makes them more powerful demons. They must fight, or half of their school will unwittingly join the Outfit on prom night.

I can’t tell you how hard that was to do! This book is gloriously complicated- I say glorious because I love a plot that keeps me on my feet. By the end, everything you think at the beginning has changed, people aren’t who you realize they are. I also enjoyed realizing little things that hinted about who the characters were and how they fit into the devils vs. angels theme. For example:

-The name Haven Terra. Haven is one letter away from Heaven, angels, wings and such. Terra means earth in Latin (but I’m no expert), like Heaven/ angel on Earth.

-Her friends name, Dante. As in Dante Alighieri, author of the poem Divine Comedy about Dante’s journey through Heaven, Purgatory, and Hell.

-Lastly, her boss’ name Lucian. That sounds a lot like Lucifer, which was the name of a fallen angel in the bible. Which is funny, because we find out *SPOILER* that Lucian actually used to be an angel.

I have no idea why these little things were included. Up to the author, I suppose.

It says on the cover that this book is part The Picture of Dorian Grey , part The Devil Wears Prada. I haven’t read The Picture of Dorian Grey (but I will in the near future), but from the Goodreads summary it seems like this book ripped off a true classic. That is my only issue. I guess I will have more of an opinion when I read them both. If you have read these two, I would love some thoughts on the similarities.

I actually read 3 books this weekend, and they were all great! It might take me a while to get to them all, but I will! Hope your weekend was fantastic!

Olivia

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic, Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

Leave a Reply

