Book Review- Cinder

I finished Cinder by Marissa Meyer a few days ago! This was one of those books that you sit down with, and get up 7 hours later with it finished, not having moved at all since you started. It hooks you from the very beginning, and the end certainly doesn’t disappoint!

As you can probably tell (if you are a regular reader, that is) I like fairy tale re-tellings a lot! It is hard to imagine a more creative way of writing Cinderella than having her be a cyborg, if you ask me! This book is set in post- apocalyptic China, where a terrible plague somewhat reminiscent of the Black Plague is sweeping the world. Scientists are hard at work to find a cure, while the government (including the handsome Prince Kai) is working to stop war between Earth and the Lunars. The Lunars are magical people ruled by a vicious royal family intent on marrying Prince Kai and taking over the world. A little ambitious, right?

Marissa Meyer is a fantastic writer! I just have to say that first. She has a way with words, but still keeps it interesting to teens and adults. I found the pace to be a bit slow for my taste, but it wasn’t Wuthering Heights slow either. The story was recognizable as Cinderella with the basic elements, but other than the few key parts (i.e.-evil stepmother, handsome prince, “shoe” coming off after the ball, etc.) it couldn’t have been more different! Cinder was easy to identify with, because unlike the original Cinderella she wasn’t portrayed as perfect. She recognizes her faults and still works to change them, but refuses to compromise her values.

The ending is a HUGE shocker, if you saw this one coming you are psychic! I can’t believe we have to wait a few years (I’m pretty sure it’s at least 1 1/2 years) from now for the second to come out! The ending leaves you wanting to know more.

One little thing, though. I was surfing on Goodreads and it appears there are going to be four in the series. And each one will feature Cinder and another fairy tale character or princess in a different setting. I like the idea of this at first, but when I think more about it, I’m wondering if Meyer will continue to tie up the loose ends she left in this story. In the sequel’s summaries there is a visible lack of Prince Kai, and I am worrying if Cinder will EVER get her happy ending with him. Ever. Some stuff hits the fan at the end of Cinder, and it doesn’t look too good for the two of them together.

Overall, this book is a win! Recommended to everyone, appropriate for all age groups! Hope you guys enjoyed this, Happy Almost Wednesday! Up next (tomorrow) Fever by Lauren Stefano.

Olivia

P.S.  Book related hilarity courtesy of Figment.com!

Why does the protagonist of the Hunger Games frustrate firemen? – Because they hate to see a Kat stuck in a tree. And because she’s the girl on fire!

What can you say about the bumpiest witch? – she Hogswarts

If you told the author of Harry Potter a joke, what would happen? Rowling On The Floor, Laughing

I called every fan of these books I know and told them these. Seriously. I hope I made you laugh!

5 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction, Romance

5 responses to “Book Review- Cinder

  1. Glad to see you enjoyed this, Olivia! Unfortunately, I couldn’t quite get into the narrator’s voice, and put it down long before it began to develop.

    I am also thrilled to see you took me up on my suggestion to check out Figment! How are you liking it so far?

    • I have to say, her voice took a little getting used to, not unlike Sam in Before I Fall. If you powered through until the end, I think you wouldn’t be disappointed! But I don’t blame you for putting it down!
      So far, my favorite part of Figment is their daily writing themes! Very helpful to get the juices flowing! I have yet to post anything, but I have read some, and posting is on my summer to do list!
      If it isn’t too much trouble, do you have any more book recommendations for me? I’m kind of running dry… 😉
      Olivia

  2. Nice review. looking forward to more. I invite you to visit my blog

  3. Feel Think Say

    I so want to read the book now, after reading your book review.

Leave a Reply

