Book Review- Stardust

I finished reading Stardust yesterday! I did not expect to like it better than The Princess Bride- but I did! I didn’t have high hopes for this one, it just seemed like another fairy tale. But it far exceeded my expectations and is definitely unique!

Stardust is about a boy named Tristan Thorn who is madly in love with a beautiful woman. She has no love for him, but one night when they see a shooting star, she promises that if he brings her the fallen star, she will give him anything he desires. Tristan goes on a crazy quest to find the star- but he isn’t the only one with an interest in the star. The story tracks not only Tristan’s, but many others’ quests to find the star through the wonderful, magical land of Faerie.

If I had sat down and read this book from cover to cover, it wouldn’t have taken me very long! It is a surprisingly quick read with easy yet beautiful language. It is nothing like any other fairy tale you have ever read. It certainly has some of the same elements of a traditional fairy tale- but the idea is entirely Gaiman’s own, and he wrote it with his special voice that we all love so much.

One thing I think I should mention is that I was very confused at first. It was hard to understand the frequent changes of characters at the beginning. And despite what you think, the person the story follows is Tristan’s father, not Tristan.  And the purpose of that is to tell the story of how Tristan came to be, if you know what I mean. 😉

Up until I read this book, I haven’t given you much information on the target audience for the books I review. I think now is a great time to start! Before I read this, I was checking out some reviews on Goodreads. This part of one particularly stood out:

“However, in attempting to write a “fairy tale for adults” Gaimon completely missed the mark. Apparently his idea of what makes a story “for adults” is generous sprinklings of gore, violence, and sex. Considering that the rest of the story is written with child-like simplicity these sections are jarring, to say the least. When I stumbled across the first somewhat graphic sex scene within a few dozen pages, I literally stopped to double check what book I was reading.”

While I have to disagree with the first part of this, the rest has a certain bit of truth. In certain parts, the violence is appalling! Nothing you can’t skim through… And the graphic sex scenes? Yes, they do exist, but maybe two times in the whole book. Again, nothing you can’t easily ignore. So while you can ignore these things, be prepared before you read it and I would only recommend it for high schoolers and up!

I think this is a great story that you can’t miss! I also really want to see the movie 😉

Hope you guys had a great weekend! You can look for a review of Cinder by Marissa Meyer next. It was great!

Olivia

 

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

2 responses to “Book Review- Stardust

  1. Thank you Olivia! I will have to check it out.

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

