Pearl in the Dirt

I feel the need to write a short little post! This has nothing to do with books, but who cares? I feel the need to share this!

I have been having a hard time for the past few weeks. Every student hates late April/ early May the most out of the whole year! Exam prep, a lot of extra stress, tests way too often and trying to cram a boatload of material into a couple weeks! That, and ever since Spring Break ended I’ve had trouble getting into the groove of things.

Keeping that in mind, I was really looking forward to the weekend. Friday was going way too slow, and I felt on edge and couldn’t concentrate. Hurrying through a ridiculously crowded hallway, feeling very grumpy, and definitely not in the mood for anything. All of a sudden I noticed a little pile of dirt near the wall, and was disgusted until I realized that there was a pearl sitting in the middle of it. I really wish I had taken a picture of it! I will if it is still there tomorrow… but you get the idea. For some reason, this little thing really spoke to me. Something as small as a fake pearl sitting in a pile of dirt in my disgusting school (which I love, but is surely infested with cockroaches and possibly rodents) reminded me that I am lucky. I am healthy, I have an easy life, and a bright future ahead of me! There are so many people that are less fortunate- who am I to complain about school being tough and stupid classes?

It seems kind of preachy, but I just wanted to use this little thing to remind everyone that it always gets better. Not only are we lucky, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel!

Count your blessings, my friends. It really puts things in perspective! 🙂

Olivia

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Pearl in the Dirt

  1. What a great message, Olivia! Thanks for posting this! Keep it up 😉

Leave a Reply

