Movie Review- The Lucky One

Despite my recent lack of reading (I haven’t picked up a book not for school in about 4 days *GASP*) I did see The Lucky One in theaters yesterday! I admit I had high hopes for the movie, because

a.) The book was great.

b.) Zac Efron is very hansome.

and c.) Overall, I like Nicholas Sparks!

Maybe I set my hopes too high, but I didn’t like this movie as much as I thought I would. It isn’t a movie that I would watch over and over, but I would recommend it!

If you want a synopsis of the book/ movie, click here.

Moving on the real stuff. Part of the reason that I waited until today to post this movie review instead of writing it yesterday is that I wasn’t quite sure of my opinion of this movie at first. To be honest, I still can’t totally make up my mind. But mostly, I enjoyed this movie.

As with all movies, certain sacrifices had to be made to fit the events into a short-(ish) run time. However, I felt like too many important events were skipped! There were many parts that I felt should have been included, but weren’t. I expected it to be closer to the book than it was. Although I can say that it could stand alone as a good movie if you hadn’t read the book, and that is always a plus!

Whatever happened to all of Nicholas Sparks’ books being set in North Carolina? I mean, really? Hampton, Louisiana? Jambalaya night instead of taco night? Whyyyyyyyyy!!

Compared to the book, my friend and I both agreed that they squished the first half of the book into a 20 minute segment, and then drew the rest out for another hour and 20 minutes! I realize that the first half is a little boring, and quite frankly romance free, but it seems unfair to the book.

The rest of the movie was great! The actors wear wonderful- although I wish Clayton had been portrayed in a more negative light. It was a quick way to pass a rainy day, and I can see why they call this a date movie. It is very romantic and can get sappy in places, but it still kept that unpredictability that surprised me in the book. The end was great, just like in the book. I recommend this book to those who appreciate a romance, but if not then this probably isn’t for you. 🙂

I finished Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen about a week ago. I don’t plan on writing a review of it, but if you want one tell me below. It was awesome, by the way! And I watched A Walk to Remember this afternoon! It made me cry, of course. But it still rocked! Definitely need to read the book now…. 😉

Have fun reading and movie- watching, everyone!

Olivia

4 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction, Movie Review, Romance

4 responses to “Movie Review- The Lucky One

  1. I thought the movie was just “so-so” too. I wasn’t overly impressed, but, then again I wasn’t overly impressed with the book, either; however, I can see that someone who was, such as you, might find the movie a disappointment. On its own, it stood as a 7.5 out of 10 for me, but anytime a book is measured against its meatier progenitor, it’s going to fail abominably! The upside? Zac Efron is a drool-worthy leading man!

Leave a Reply

