Book Review- The Sugar Queen

I know that I just posted yesterday that I was starting this. I can’t help that this book was so good! I stayed up until 11 last night reading (which I have been known to do on multiple occasions!) until I finished! I gave this 5 stars on Goodreads and am currently FORCING one of my friends to read it. It was that good!

The story centers around a 27 year old woman named Josey who has a pretty stinky life. She is lonely, stuck in a small town doing chores for her mother, and spends her free time hidden in her closet reading romance novels and eating candy. One day she opens her closet to find a woman named Della Lee sitting there(and refusing to move). That is when everything changes. She meets new friends who change her life, and help her find the love she has been waiting for! There is drama, romance, and a wee bit of magic!

Normally, books with “a wee bit of magic” annoy me. It seems like magic is one of those things where you either include it, or you don’t. You either make a magical world or set it in a world where there is no magic whatsoever. That is just the way it should be! Boy, was I wrong! I guess I never read a book that had the perfect balance of real and imaginary, until I found this one! 🙂

I loved this book! The characters are very relate-able, with realistic emotions and vices. This is also another one of those books where the characters are surprisingly dynamic, but still the same character deep down. The plot is enjoyable, and even though I didn’t realize it, from the first few pages I was hooked. Oh, and the happy ending is a plus too! (you know how I am with sad endings)

One of the little bits of magic is that one of the main characters, Chloe, has an “ability”. Books appear whenever she needs them. These books happen to be about whatever Chloe needs the most help with at that time. When she doesn’t want to read them, they are relentless. They follow her everywhere! I dare you to name for me a book-lover who wouldn’t DIE to have this “superpower”! 😀

I highly recommend this book! I am now reading Garden Spells, also by Sarah Addison Allen. Hope you enjoy the book and I’ll talk to you later!

Olivia

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

Leave a Reply

