Book Review-Wither

I am breaking my own rule AGAIN! It has been a few weeks since I read this book, but it is still fresh in my mind and I can review it fairly. Also, I’m back for real this time! I was busy doing, well, other things that exist outside of the Internet world. 🙂 But I’ll try to post more often!

I would say that Wither was enjoyable, but not magical. You know those, where you feel like it is the child you never had, and read a million times, and practically worship? For me, this wasn’t one those. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t GOOD, it was great! But not the best book I have ever read by any means.

I just couldn’t summarize this, so this is Goodread’s summary instead. Sorry!

“By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children. When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement. Her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next, and Rhine is desperate to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Will Rhine be able to escape–before her time runs out?Together with one of Linden’s servants, Gabriel, Rhine attempts to escape just before her seventeenth birthday. But in a world that continues to spiral into anarchy, is there any hope for freedom?”

Well, you get the gist. I really don’t blame you if you didn’t read that whole thing!

I have to say, it is very hard these days for a YA dystopian-writer. Most people are plum sick of the genre (me not included) and look for every opportunity to critique these books. I though the author did a great job creating a believable post-apocalyptic world. The difference between their society and ours is so drastic that it’s more believable than others in the genre, if that makes sense.

And did I mention (if you didn’t read the summary, this is super important!) that in this world, females live to age 20 and males to age 25?

This book addresses some pretty touchy topics such as polygamous marriage, scientific experimentation, and kidnapping. If you don’t think you can handle reading about these topics, I wouldn’t recommend this to you. The author addresses them in a way that makes it easier to read than you think it would be! I enjoyed reading and imagining this new world.

That being said, the characters left a little to be desired. It seems that often they have extreme personality traits at the beginning that soften towards the end. I can think of 1…2…3…4… OK a lot of those, and that gets a little annoying. She didn’t have much interaction with her sister wives (that is what they are called in the book) for so long that it was hard to believe! Then all of a sudden, they are best friends! The cynic in me just doesn’t buy that. Then there is the fact that I read something on the book jacket about Gabriel (the boy she runs away with) and Rhine’s strong attraction to each other. I didn’t see that at all! It was just *SPOILER* Rhine and Gabriel kissing once or twice. It seemed like Rhine only liked Gabriel because he slips her candy and she really, really needs a friend. Attraction? I don’t think so!

However, no matter how much the characters can be criticized, the plot is good, the setting is good, and the world is believable. Overall, a good read (HAHA get it? good read? Like Goodreads? Oh, my. :))and if you get past the more touchy topics, everyone should read this!

Have you read this? 🙂

Olivia

P.S. I’ll probably be checking out the sequel from my library soon. I’ll keep you posted!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction

2 responses to “Book Review-Wither

  1. mollyspring

    I wondered if this book just had a particularly bad goodreads synopsis, and that’s what put me off of it… I’m sure I’ll eventually give it a try. I’ll be interested to see what you think of the sequel~

    • I think it gives a little too much away personally. But you should give it a try, at least. I think you will be sucked in! 🙂 The sequel seems better than the original, and that is fine by me! I will keep everyone updated as always!
      Olivia

Leave a Reply

