Book Review- Shatter Me

Part of the reason that I have been putting off writing a review of this book is that I think I can’t convey how much I love it. It is absolutely tied for my favorite with Divergent (maybe even passing it a little… SHH). I already posted about this as part of my 30 Day Book Challenge- Day 24- Book that contains your favorite scene.After posting this, I realized my 2nd favorite scene is also in this book. For those of you who have read it, it is the scene between Warner and Juliette, with the gun in his coat. Yup, if you’ve read this you know exactly what I’m talking about! 😉 (GIRL POWER)

It is hard to summarize because so much of the book would be spoiled if I told you what it was entirely about. But basically, it is about a girl named Juliette who is in prison because whenever she touches someone she causes them intense agony and eventually death. She has grown up isolated and shunned by everyone, she has a very hard life. One day a boy is put in her cell with her, a faintly familiar boy recognizable by his deep blue eyes. A whhhooollllee lot of things happen, and I can’t even tell you what they are! Arg, that is so frustrating. But I can tell you that she gets out of prison in a way, and falls in love with the boy (Adam).

This is possibly the most dynamic book,  the most dynamic characters that I have ever read about. The beginning of this book is bleak and slightly depressing, but TRUST ME, it gets fantastic. The romance between Adam and Juliette is very, very sweet!

I hardly ever find a book that I have no negative opinion on, no criticism. And I realize that it can be hard to read a glowing review of a book with no negativity.  But this is the way I felt about this book, and I won’t a

You MUST read this. Honestly people, right after I finished this I read it again. A week later I read it again. Yes, it is that good. Take my word for it, this is one of the best books I have ever read.

Have you read this? What did you think?

Olivia 😉

14 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

14 responses to “Book Review- Shatter Me

  1. Haven’t yet read this one. BUT — I do follow her feed on FB. She has a witty personality that I rather like; hopefully this translates into her writing!

    • I think you would like it! You liked Wither right? It is very different from Wither, but I enjoy her writing style. She writes prose like it is poetry sometimes, it’s very interesting! I’ll check her out on Facebook!

      • I have not read Wither! I will add that to my Goodreads, if it’s not already there. I can’t keep up, lol!

      • hahaha! My friends are always teasing me about finishing books in one day! They say I have a new book every day, which is pretty crazy! (and true!) Wow, I wonder where I got the idea that you had read it? My brain, I suppose. They are two very different but also good books! 🙂

  2. This ones going on my to read list! Still waiting for Divergent from the library. There’s a long wait so it must be good! I’ll let you know what I think when I finish it 😉

    • You should absolutely read this! I just requested my copy at the library because it isn’t in paperback yet and is pretty expensive. Divergent is so good that you should just buy it! I hardly ever say that, but if you call your Barnes and Noble, they will order it to their location for free in paperback. I paid 8.99 for mine because of my membership with them. (10% off) Even if you pay full price, paperback is only 10 bucks! You should definitely spring for it!
      Olivia

  3. Whoo definitely gonna add this one to the list!

  4. mollyspring

    Hmmm… I’ve heard very negative things about this one, that it’s just moving romance to the dytstopia setting because it’s so hot right now, but i’ll give it another look (I think the ball gown cover is what initially put me off!)

    • Wow, really? I never would have suspected it! PLEASE give it a try. I promise you won’t be disappointed, the romance is FABULOUS! I think the cover is beautiful, and if the beginning is boring for you, just stick through it! It gets soooo good!

  5. mollyspring

    oh i do think the cover is pretty…i as just like how are you going to fight the establishment in formal wear, especially if it’s white!

  6. Pingback: “Shatter Me”, Surprised Me! | Two Readers Writing

  7. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 27-Favorite fiction book | Olivia's Opinions

Leave a Reply

