30 Day Book Challenge: Day 25-Favorite book you read in school

Aside from Shakespeare’s plays (I think I’ve talked about them enough for a while :)), The Book Thief is the favorite book that I have read (so far) in school. This book is a little dark, it is set during the Holocaust like so many other books I have read in school. But especially for any book lover, this book is easy to connect to! The main character loves books, and they are one of the main reasons that she lives through losing everything-multiple times.

If you haven’t read this yet, you should! I consider it a modern classic! Oh yeah, and there is no romance or love-triangle either. I’m sure some people will be pleased by that!;)

I’m about to leave for vacation! I think I’ll still be able to post, but there probably won’t be any pictures in my posts for a few days! πŸ™‚ Bye guys!

Olivia

13 Comments

Filed under Classic, Fiction, Modern Fiction

13 responses to “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 25-Favorite book you read in school

  1. I’m so jealous you got to read this in school. We only got to read the classics. I hope if anyone ever hires me I get to use this book in my classroom.

    • My teacher was the greatest!!! We also read Night, which gave me the creeps. Have you read Markus Zusak’s other book? I wonder if I should read it….

      • I haven’t. Even when I lived in Australia for 8 months, I didn’t read his other books because there were so many authors that didn’t transfer to the US so I had to quickly gobble them up. I do want to read it though. I’m sure it’s fabulous. I haven’t read Night but it’s sitting in my to-read pile. You’ve made me nervous now.

      • Oh, don’t be nervous! πŸ™‚ It really is a good book, just some strong stuff! The same as most other Holocaust things, I guess! I still want to read his other books! Just not at the top of my list!

      • He has one with a brilliant cover of two people dancing. I got it for my boyfriend’s mom for her birthday because she became really interested in Ellie W. after reading Night.

      • Cool! I’m pretty sure he won the Nobel Peace prize…… not sure though!

      • That’s awesome. I bet so.

  2. I didn’t have the pleasure of reading this book in school; but, I did read Night. It was definitely one of my favourites in high school.

  3. Ahh this is such an excellent book! Even though it’s categorized as a YA book, I think it’s so much more than that

  4. I read this book for school too and completely loved it. I had heard of it before but wasn’t too interested in it. I’m so glad I was ‘forced’ to read it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

