Movie Review- The Hunger Games

I went to The Hunger Games yesterday with some of my friends! I was really excited to see it- even though I had heard mixed reviews. It seemed like I heard good things from friends, and semi- good things from the critics and reviewers. I tend to agree with the critics, myself.

New York Times review quote:

“For some fans of the three novels, the screen version will inevitably be disappointing, especially for those keeping inventory of the details, characters, grim thoughts and cynicism that have gone missing.”

Can I just say that I agree with this totally? I think if you are an avid lover of the books, then the liberties taken with this film will annoy you more than just a little. I did enjoy this movie, I really did! But the point is compared to the books, the movie really stinks.

If you haven’t read the books, these might spoilers. 😉 These are some things the movie changed that I wasn’t a fan of.

~ The mockingjay pin thing. In the book, Madge, the daughter of the Mayor(or something similar, I can’t remember) gives her the pin to keep her safe. In the movie, Katniss buys the pin for Prim, because Prim is scared to death getting chosen.

~Where were the helicopters that took the bodies away?

~ Why didn’t they even bring up the Avoxes? They were there, but they weren’t explained.

~ Why were the tributes wearing eyeliner and mascara in the arena?

~ Why did the tributes look fantastic when they were starving?

~ Most importantly, why did they get rid of the tribute part of the tribute-dog-monsters?! That was important!!

Besides those things, the movie was good. I have to say, the casting was very pleasing. You know it is good when you can’t imagine anyone else playing a certain character! Amandla Stenberg was perfect as Rue, and Josh Hutcherson was awesome as Peeta. Gale was probably the most handsome 😉 (well, all of the guys in this were, except for the old ones like Seneca Crane, etc.) but he was portrayed to be much more brooding and moody than I think he was in the book! The tributes, especially the more terrifying ones like Clove, Foxface, and Cato were wonderful as well! They were extremely bone-chilling. Jennifer Lawrence did a pretty good job of playing Katniss. I can’t really think of anything else to say about her performance.

Some people criticized how they added many scenes of Seneca Crane, Haymitch, and President Snow that weren’t in the book. I liked this! I think it added more political complexity to the movie, and more interest too!

There were some scenes I really liked, like the last scene in the arena, and the Tracker Jackers, and the scene where she blows up the supplies. There were even some funny scenes!

I recommend this movie IF you have read the book first! If you haven’t yet, then trust me, this movie will be in theaters long enough for you to read the book first! 🙂 It is slightly disappointing compared to the book, but still great and worthwhile to see!

😀 Olivia

5 Comments

Filed under Movie Review

5 responses to “Movie Review- The Hunger Games

  1. I was also disappointed that the dogs weren’t mutants of the tributes, and also disappointed in the ending of the movie. It felt very rushed. But overall I did really love it and thought all the actors were amazing! Can’t wait for Catching Fire!!

  2. Some of the problems you had, I had with the film as well. Though I really went in with above forehead expectations. I agree that they left some really great, key points out, though in the overall picture (for the most part) can see why. Also, I like your point about the added Snow and Crane scenes… I originally was a little put out by them. I felt that they were moments stolen from the movie that could have been used and applied to actual scenes that happened and were used for the film… though after some re-thinking, I think you are right, and think they add to the political complexity of the stories landscape… Thanks for your review. Enjoyed the read.

Leave a Reply

