30 Day Book Challenge: Day 8- Book that scares you

I had to really think about this one! Frankly, when a book scares me, I just put it down! I see no point in reading something that bothers me.  But this is a very thought-provoking book, even is it is a little “bothersome”! It is about a woman and her son who are held captive in a shed for many years by a man we know as “Old Nick”. He keeps her as her as a “you-know-what-I’m-talking-about” slave.  She hasn’t been out of this 8′ by 11′ room in at least 10 years. It is a very tough read and the perspective is hard to get used to at first. But I am definitely glad I read it, and you should too. But it definitely scared me.

🙂 Thanks for reading, and happy Friday!

Olivia

P.S.- I didn’t mention this before, but this is fiction.

6 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Book Challenge, Modern Fiction

6 responses to “30 Day Book Challenge: Day 8- Book that scares you

  1. This has always sounded like an interesting book, but I think I’ll be too creeped out by it…

    • Oh NO! Please read it! I was worried about this coming off negatively, but I really am glad I read it and I feel almost wiser having read it. It is creepy, but also is worth reading. Check out some Goodreads reviews of it if you want some more opinions! 🙂
      Olivia

  2. Casey m

    I’m glad you did a review on this! I wanted to read this not knowing what it was about, by the cover I thought it was a kiddy book. It reminds me, from what you’ve said, about jacey dugard! That woman that was kidnapped as a child and kept in captivity until she was a grown women with two kids! Very freaky!

    • That’s what I thought when I read it too!!! And no, it is most definitely not a kiddy book. There is some “mature content”, nothing explicit or obvious, but somethings that you would only realize if you were older. I don’t know if this is a good fit for you, but I do recommend it! 🙂

  3. I reviewed this one a little while ago if you’re interested: http://thoughtsonmybookshelf.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/room-by-emma-donoghue/
    I wasn’t a huge fan but I definitely agree about it being a scary book. My pick for scariest book ever would definitely be ‘Pet Sematary’ by Stephen King. It’s been years since I read it and it’s still giving me nightmares – very disturbing in a way that only amazing writers can pull off. Read it if you dare. lol.

Leave a Reply

