Reading Update and a couple of book reviews!

Hey guys! So, I have been pretty bad lately with reviewing the books that I finish.  But I am about to fix that! 🙂 I’m going to make “mini-reviews” within this post of the two books that I finished recently, plus some news!

As I have said many times, this book was recommended to me by my dear friend Cara! Wow, I loved this book so much! It is a retelling of the “bedtime” story, The Twelve Dancing Princesses.  This was my favorite book as a little girl, and I still have my copy(that happens to have some BEAUTIFUL illustrations in it!). Cara told me that she hasn’t read the original, so she can’t compare the two. But I can say that they are very similar! I totally recommend this to ANYONE! I particularly loved the knitting references and the pattern in back- and I am currently knitting Rose’s Shawl from the book! (I’ll let you know how it turns out!) Despite the “girly” cover, this is NOT a child’s book, but a timeless classic that everyone should read!

I had a lot of people comment on my Library Awesomeness-Haul and tell me that I was going to like this, so I had pretty high hopes. I am a little in the middle on this one, I thought it was OK.  The concept that the book was centered around was quite interesting, but I didn’t like the way the author carried it out. I felt it dragged on a little bit(OK, a lot), and one of the main characters was drunk or with a new girl like every single minute.  However, the ending did suit me, even though it was sad.   Would I recommend this? I gotta be honest, just go check it out on Google or Goodreads for yourself if you’re considering it, because it’s not for everyone.  I bet the movie will be good though!

And lastly, some news!

1. I checked out two books from the school library today! Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines, both by John Green. I am reading the latter now, and it is my first ever John Green book! I am very excited about reading his books because all of the book bloggers seem to love his work. That isn’t to say I’ll like it, but I think there is a pretty good chance I will. I know I want to read The Fault in Our Stars but it isn’t in paperback, and there are like 80 requests for it. I can wait. But I am still super excited, I’ll keep you folks updated!

2.I am also reading a free book on my Kindle called 44.  So far it is pretty good, especially because it was free! Check my Goodreads on the sidebar if you want more info.

3. My local Barnes and Noble just called to tell me that my copy of Divergent by Veronica Roth is in!!!! Yayayayay! And I didn’t even have to pay shipping, I called to see if they had it in paperback and they offered to order it for me! It is all I can do to put down everything and read it! But no. No, Olivia. You must finish the books you have first. Be a responsible reader! 🙂 But I’m excited! Has anyone read it yet?!

Hope you enjoyed this multi-tasking post! Stay tuned for more reviews and Book Challenges! (and I am having so much fun with the 30 Day Book Challenge!)

🙂 Olivia

 

3 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction, Romance

3 responses to “Reading Update and a couple of book reviews!

  1. awww man! I’m really sorry you didn’t enjoy One Day as much as I did! I guess we have different tastes – I loved the book but the ending did not suit me at all. lol.

    On the other hand, I have heard really good things about Divergent so I’ve got some high hopes for that one – let me know what you think / whether or not I should move it to the top of my reading list!

    • Its fine, everyone is different!!! And that is so funny! Opposites, LOL! But I will absolutely tell you what I think of Divergent, I’m excited to read it! I really appreciate how you value my opinion(s), this really means a lot to me! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Book Review- Entwined | Olivia's Opinions

Leave a Reply

