30 Day Book Challenge:Day 4- Book that makes you cry

I originally read Columbine by Dave Cullen as part of a report I wrote for English class a few months ago.  I first read the fiction piece Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult, and then read Columbine afterwards on my own, because I wanted to compare to two, who happen to be extremely similar!

For anyone who doesn’t know, Columbine is about a terrible and deadly true-life massacre that happened on April 20th, 1999. The two perpetrators, Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris were teenage boys that went to the school.  To me the most horrific part was not only did they KNOW the 13 people that they killed and 21 that were injured, but that they planned this.  For several years they carefully planned out how their massacre would go down, using not only guns but also bombs that were meant to kill emergency personnel. Just reading their journals and the firsthand accounts of those who survived the tragedy was enough to bring me to tears multiple times.

All of this makes it found like a bad book, but really it is just the subject that is bad. I learned quite a lot from reading this book, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in the topic, or has read Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult.

8 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Book Challenge, Nonfiction

8 responses to “30 Day Book Challenge:Day 4- Book that makes you cry

  1. I lived only sixty miles from where this happened, and I still had plenty of misconceptions about the shootings that Cullen’s book dispelled. A hard read, but I agree that it’s worthwhile.
    I’ve never read Nineteen Minutes, but I read a decent novel that centers around a school shooting (and doesn’t exploit the events) called Hey, Nostradamus by Douglas Coupland.

  2. I was nine years old when it happened and two towns over. I remember being so scared that day because all of the adults were so scared! On a side note, I really like Nineteen Minutes- Picoult is a favorite of mine 🙂

    • Oh gosh! That must have been terrifying- just reading this was scary! But it really does dismiss any questions you might have had about what happened- and gets rid of some rumors too! And I did like Nineteen Minutes, but that’s the only Jodi Picoult that I’ve read.

  3. Thanks, Olivia. Sorry it made you cry. I lost track of how many times I cried writing it. (The Dave Sanders chapter was the worst.)

Leave a Reply

