Book Review- The Rescue

Once I started reading “The Rescue” by Nicholas Sparks, I couldn’t stop. I can’t compare this to any of his other books, because I haven’t read any other books of his, but from what I see on Goodreads it isn’t his best one.  However, I quite enjoyed this. Once I started this, I laid in my bed for 4 straight hours and read. When I finally put it down, with puffy eyes due to my excessive crying, it was 1 AM. Greeaattt. On a school night. When I have to wake up at 6 AM the next day. Perfect. But it was worth it!

This book is about a woman named Denise who has a child named Kyle. Kyle has a speech problem- he is 5, but he talks like he is 2- or younger, depending on who he is talking to. She gets into a car accident, and several things happen. I don’t want to ruin it for you, but the man who rescues her is Taylor McAden, a volunteer fireman. Many things happen (and once again, I can’t tell you what!) but they fall in love! The question is- will Taylor break his bad habits of the past so that he can be with the perfect girl for him?

This is a very easy beach romance- type of book.  Like I said before, it took me about 5 hours of straight reading to finish this.  That is like nothing-  this book is 352 pages.  If you are looking for a book that is a quick read and a little bit of a tearjerker, yet still a romance that leaves you feeling satisfied, this is for you!

I am now reading both The White Queen and Shiver- from my Library Awesomeness Haul, and I am really enjoying them both. I hope everyone had a great weekend and a better than the usual terrible Monday!

I would love to read more Nicholas Sparks books! Give me your suggestions of his best!

Thanks for reading!

Olivia 🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction, Romance

11 responses to “Book Review- The Rescue

  1. I am not so much a fan of N.S.’s prose, but I LOVE his storytelling ability. That man knows how to craft an intelligent, passionate story. The Notebook remains to be among my most beloved movies, though I admit I did not read that book, either. I began The Rescue and sadly never finished it. I had borrowed it from the library and was unable to extend the renewal, and just never found the desire to re-check it out. I heard The Wedding was another of his books that many people enjoyed. Maybe you’ll enjoy that one, too!

    Thanks for the review, Olivia 🙂

    • I’ll look into The Wedding- it looks really sweet. And I wouldn’t say that it is my favorite book ever, but it was really sweet. He definitely has that gift for storytelling! You’re welcome, Cara. Glad you enjoyed it! 😀

  2. Casey

    Fun fact: that was his first book he wrote!

  3. I actually have read this one. It was subsequent N.S. books that kind of made me give up on him haha

  4. Pingback: Book Review- The Best of Me | Olivia's Opinions

Leave a Reply

