Library Awesomeness- Haul

Can you even call books you got from the library a “haul”? I’m not sure, but I’ll do it anyway. πŸ˜€ Yesterday I ordered some books that I wanted to my local library, and picked them up a few hours ago. Man, there is nothing like a brand new, shiny book. But it makes me sad that I can’t keep these forever! Maybe I’m irrational. That or I like books. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I got 6 books today. That might seem like a lot, especially considering the fact that I am already in the middle of a book. I don’t care.

Goodreads’ Description- “Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. So where will they be on this one day next year? And the year after that? And every year that follows? Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY.”

One Day was inadvertently recommended to me by Chew Your Lipstick in her day 4 of the 30 day book challenge (a book that makes you cry). I say inadvertently because I don’t know her personally, I just read her post and knew I wanted to read this book. I also saw it at a local used bookstore, so I know if I love it I can buy it for cheap.Β  I am almost always interested in books that have movies of them, so I’d be excited to see the movie after I read this.

This is similar to Phillipa Gregory’s other books in that she is writing again about the kings and queens of old England. This one in particular is about Queen Elizabeth, and her rise to power. I am interested in this one even more after reading The Other Queen-Β  because it makes Elizabeth seem like a nasty person. Her point of view will be refreshing.

Those of you who have read my last few posts know I have wanted to read this book for a long time. I have already read a sample of it on my Kindle and fallen in love, so this is most likely the one I will read first.

The Princess of the Midnight Ball is a new version of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. If you haven’t read this, it is about a handsome man who has to rescue 12 princesses from a curse- every night they must enter an underground kingdom and dance the night away.Β  I really enjoyed the original version as a little girl, and I look forward to reading this version. This was recommended to me by Cara, and it seems like we have similar tastes! I can’t wait! πŸ™‚ Thanks, Cara!

This is another one of those werewolf series’. Unfortunately, I am a sucker for those. πŸ™‚ These seem to be better than the other stereotypical sagas though. I think maybe because so many people dislike Twilight, they give all other romantic fantasy werewolf/vampire type books a bad rap. Yes, I realize these are meant for preteens, but after reading a chapter or two in target, I was hooked.

OK, so if you have read any of these books, comment and tell me what you think! I will hopefully review all of these once I am finished! Also, I LOVE recommendations, and as you can tell, most of the time I read what you recommend! So please tell me what you would suggest!

Spread the love, my fellow bookworms!!

Olivia

15 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Modern Fiction, Romance

15 responses to “Library Awesomeness- Haul

  1. One Day is terrific! And there is nothing like a brand new book waiting for you at the library! Happy reading πŸ™‚

    • Cool! I can’t wait to read it, I took a peek inside and it looks wonderful! I’ll definitely do a review on it after I read it- and you are invited to comment on that and tell me your thoughts more in-depth! Brand new books are immensely satisfying! πŸ˜€ Happy Reading!
      Olivia

  2. I am currently in the middle of reading “Shiver”… I have mixed feelings right now. Like you, I’m a sucker for the genre and to be honest, the writing does hook you in. So when I say I have mixed feelings, it is simply in regards to just that… the writing… it really shines in some places, and very dull in others. I am eager to write a review on this book and entire series upon finishing my read of it. Though am really looking forward to reading the “Divergent” series… have you read it? Would love to know others thoughts on it.

  3. also noticed that “Matched” is on your reading list for 2012… I did in fact read that one (the first in the series). I won’t spoil it for you, or give my thoughts as don’t want to give you an impression that may affect the reading of it (this is how it goes with me anyhow… if I get opinions on what others think, it affects my reading of it as well)…. though I did a review on it awhile back, and am looking forward to reading yours and your take from it.

    • Thanks! I’m happy that you hold my reviews in such high esteem! πŸ™‚ I also can’t wait to read that one! My “To Read 2012” list is getting pretty big! But still, feel free to recommend anything you don’t see that you think I would like! πŸ™‚
      Olivia

  4. You are in for something amazing with One Day. It’s one of my favourite books, I love it so much. I didn’t love the movie, but that’s probably because I was so attached to the story in novel form that it was just impossible to live up to. Let me know what you think when you finish it!

    • I will absolutely do a post about it once I’m finished, I’ve gotten a lot of recommendations of this book in the comments! Chew Your Lipstick said she didn’t like the movie as much either, but I don’t have very high movie standards. I’m OK if it isn’t very similar to the book. Although, I felt the same way as you did about this book+movie combo with The Help, but the movie absolutely met my expectations! I’m very glad Octavia Spencer won an Oscar for her performance, she was fantastic! πŸ˜€
      Olivia

  5. I really loved the Shiver werewolf series. Although, I am not crazy about Maggie Stiefvater’s endings, I enjoyed the journey! I am a sucker for those crazy werewolf romances too! Have fun! Can’t wait to read your reviews!

  6. I have One Day on my shelf waiting to be read. I keep seeing that werewolf series around- I might have to give it a try. The covers are pretty anyway! The Princess of the Midnight Ball sounds good, too.

  7. Pingback: Reading Update and a couple of book reviews! | Olivia's Opinions

  8. I read Philipa Gregory’s The Red Queen without knowing is the second part of her Cousins at War series that starts, I think, with The White Queen. Anyways, every novel by P. Gregory delivers, I’ve enjoyed every single page and I am sure this novel will be the same. Let us know! And thanks for stopping by in my blog.

Leave a Reply

