A Writer’s 7

OK, so this post SO was not my idea. I was inspired by Cara’s post on This Little Light (I’ll link to it below). The idea is basically that you have to chose 7 books that were the only books you read for the rest of your life!!! I was HORRIFIED when I first realized what this meant! That’s it?! How can I CHOSE?! But after reading her post, I decided to give it a go myself!

This actually wasn’t to hard for me to chose after all.  I just walked over to the “My Favorites” section of my bookshelf. Oh yes. I have a my favorites section of my bookshelf that houses about 10 extremely worn timeless volumes near and dear to my heart.  I just had to narrow it down to 7. And I will do a review on ALL of these at some point. I promise.

Oh, and another note before I begin. One/ more of these books might be seen as teenage girl-like books, but, I AM a teenage girl after all. So if you have a prob with my chick lit, get over it. 🙂

So.

1.I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

-This is the biggest jewel of a book I have ever picked up in my life! It was recommended to me by a teacher who has many of the same book interests as I do. It is definitely one of those books that is kind of slow and hard to adjust to at first, but once I got into this, I was TOTALLY hooked! I finished the last half of the book in less than 24 hours, which is quite a feat considering that this is a fairly large book.  I would even go so far as to say that this is my favorite book of all time.

2.)How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

– As you can see in my Goodreads bookshelf to the side, I am reading this book right now.  I am so impressed with how wise Dale Carnegie is- and how well the principles that he teaches carry over into life today, considering that this book was written more than 50 years ago (I think, somewhere around that).  I chose this as one on my list because there is so much practical application  from this book and reading it regularly does not sound like a bad idea at all.

3.) The Bible

-Do I really need to explain this one?

4.)Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

– This book is so timeless! Every time I read it, I am strangely comforted by Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy going through the same thing every girl does. Plus it is pretty long, so reading it over and over will not get to annoying.

5.) A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

-This is such a complex book, I could read it 400 times and still not quite get a grasp on it, which to me is a good thing.  I love the language and the French setting and how until the end, you never really know what is going to happen.

6.)Gone With the Wind by Margret Mitchell

-This is the greatest romance in all of history besides Romeo and Juliet that has been outsold only by the Bible. Enough said.

7.) The Complete Works of William Shakespeare

-I kind of cheated on this one. 🙂 I was going to just choose one of his plays, but I decided that was absolutely impossible so I just did this instead.  If I was stuck on a deserted island for ten years and only had one book to help me stay sane, I would choose this one.  These could occupy me for even longer than that!

Well, there you have it.  Hope you enjoyed it!

This Little Light:

http://thislittlelight516.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/a-writers-7/

8 Comments

Filed under Classic, Fiction, Nonfiction

8 responses to “A Writer’s 7

  1. Olivia!! I am so glad you chose to go forth with the challenge! And wow, you chose some incredible works of literature. The first you mentioned has me BEYOND intrigued! I’ve never heard of this book until now, but will be adding this to my Goodreads promptly, and will find you and friend you, if you don’t mind 🙂

    Okay . . . so this might be bad form, but I honestly am not one to be concerned with Proper or her sister Decorum. Anyway, I wrote a post this morning, nominating blogs for awards, and while initially I did not think to mention you — only because we had yet to interact — I am regretting that after taking a browse around your blog. So, I am editing my document and adding you to the list of recipients to the Liebster Blog Award. I do hope you will accept! And I look forward to keeping up with your posts!

    Blessings,
    Cara

    • Cara,
      I am so flattered! I appreciate this so much! Since I just got started, I hardly expected to make friends so fast. You are so sweet, and I hope we will have correspondence in the future! This is something I want to do for a very long time, although I don’t get much with school and extracurriculars, so it is very nice to have some positive re-enforcement! 🙂 I can’t wait to look into this further- but you are definitely going to be on my favorites list! Thank you so much, you don’t understand how much this means to me!
      Read lots and be safe!
      Olivia

  2. Oh, before I forget; have you heard of Figment? It’s an online writing community. You can post your poetry and stories and receive feedback and such, and of course offer the same for other aspiring authors. I think you’d be a great fit!
    Figment.com

    • I have not before now! But I just checked it out and it seems really cool- I’ll make an account later. Thank you for suggesting it for me! I have to say, the few attempts I have made at writing fiction have failed miserably. I could give it another try though, and what poetry I have written for school turned out well! Can you tell from my blog that I hadn’t even started writing for pleasure until two months ago? It actually used to be painful for me to write, I was never proud of the finished product. It was like I put up some mental roadblock where I didn’t permit myself to let go and release the natural (?) talent! I love writing now!!

      • Definitely take some time and check out the site. There are some AH-mazing writers on there, and the forums are a great place to get to know people and ask for advice, critiques, etc…

        I would never have known that you weren’t always a writer. You articulate yourself very well, and my guess is have a bucket-load of talent! Give yourself the room to make mistakes and freedom to grow through trial and error. Happy writing, Olivia!

      • Thank you for everything! I will definitely check it out more in depth when I have more time- the only thing that keeps me from reading 24/7! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

