Book Review- Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

I almost feel bad about writing this review- most of the time I am careful to write a review right after I read the book so that I can give an accurate representation of what I think about it, even if I have read it before.  I finished this about a week and a half ago, but I took a glance back at it today to refresh my memory.  I bought my copy at a local used bookstore and it was around 4.50, but I believe full price it is about 15 or 16 dollars.

Alright, the review. You will RARELY see me give a book a bad review. Ever.  But I had really high hopes for this book! I was so disappointed because most of the time I am into memoirs. This book is about the author’s journey through Italy, India, and Indonesia.  She does this because she has just come out of a very long and stressful divorce and a broken relationship and decides that the way for her to recover. The reason this book is called Eat, Pray, Love is because in Italy she eats a lot(and frankly I can’t think of a better place to do that), in India she prays/starts her spiritual journey, and in Indonesia she finds love.

The best way for me to do this one is to divide it into two lists.

Things I DON’T like about this book (unfortunately this list is pretty big!):

  • I think the title is kind of cheesy and the cover art looks a little doctored.
  • She says right in the book that this is an all expense paid trip, under contract that she would write this book afterwords. This seems a little dishonest to me.
  • The whole book is about her.  Now, I fully understand that this book is meant to be about herself. But at every turn it is  “I feel sad, I feel bad, I feel lonely.” It reminds me of one of those children’s books that goes like- “Baby is sad. Baby is happy! Baby plays with the doggie.” I am being pretty harsh on this though.
  • She is very self-indulgent. Always whining, crying, and she might be depressed but she has emotional breakdowns so often it appears she is trying to get others to shoulder her burdens. Which in no way will help her. Of course, this only lasts until about halfway through her trip to India, and then she is to spiritually absorbed to care.
  • When she is in Italy she eats. A WHOLE LOT. It seems very wrong and gross! She is so strangely happy that she gains like 20 pounds in 4 months!
  • OK- so this is a little bit of a spoiler. If you haven’t read this book yet, I would not suggest continuing  So the Indonesia section, also known as the “Love” section, of this book bothers me most of all.  She goes to Indonesia with absolutely no aim other than to go back to some physic medicine man who predicted she would return to him.  She is still wrapping herself around being single, which for some reason really irritates her.  She finds an older man after a few months there, in fact 20 years older than herself, and they start to have a relationship that ends in their marriage.  Because of certain more risque parts of this section, I recommend that no one under the age of 14 read this book.  At least.

Things I DO Like About This Book

  • She has a gift for writing.
  • I like the idea for the smaller stories within the book and their connections with the beads, although they just come off as chapters.
  • She has a wonderful sense of humor! She lightens up the dull moments in the book well.

I really wish I could find better things to say about this book. I do! I thought I was going to enjoy this book, but it just did not work for me. I know there will be some people who disagree with me on what I have said here, but this is my honest review of this book and I apologize if it comes off a little harsh. I did not like this book overall, but that is not to say you shouldn’t try it.

Am I interested in the movie? Ehhh….. Not overwhelmingly. But if I ever watch it, I will do a review!  Hope you enjoyed it!

4 Comments

Filed under Modern Fiction

4 responses to “Book Review- Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

  1. I didn’t like Eat, Pray, Love all that much either. I thought her attitude about sex was just too casual and flippant.

    • The whole book overall just got under my skin! I was ashamed to read this book in public! And like I said in my Goodreads review, if I had bought this book new I would have been veeerrrryyy angry.

  2. I felt the same way about this book. I unfortunately found it a chore to finish.

Leave a Reply

